Social

Options

Advertisements

2014: India

India National public holidays of India in 2014

DayDateHolidayComments
Wednesday January 01 New Years Day Arunachal pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Miizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu only
Tuesday January 07 Guru Govind Singh Jayanti Chandigarh, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab only. Birthday of the tenth and final Sikh prophet-teacher
Sunday January 12 Birthday of Swami Vivekananda West Bengal only.
Monday January 13 Bhogi Andhra Pradesh Only
Tuesday January 14 Milad-un-Nabi Birthday of Prophet Muhammad
Tuesday January 14 Pongal Also known as Makar Sankranti, Lohri, Bihu, Hadaga, Poki
Wednesday January 15 Pongal Also known as Makar Sankranti, Lohri, Bihu, Hadaga, Poki
Thursday January 16 Uzhavar Tirunal Puducherry, Tamil Nadu only
Thursday January 23 Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only. Birthday of a prominent leader in the Indian freedom movement
Saturday January 25 Statehood Day Himachal Pradesh only
Sunday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Tuesday February 04 Vasant Panchami Haryana, Odisha,Tripura, West Bengal only
Friday February 14 Guru Ravidas Birthday Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab only
Wednesday February 19 Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti Maharashtra (Mumbai) only
Thursday February 27 Maha Shivratri
Friday February 28 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Sunday March 16 Doljatra Holi Dahan. Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal only.
Monday March 17 Holi
Monday March 31 Ugadi Telugu and Kannada New Year. Karnataka (Bangalore), Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh only.
Monday March 31 Telugu New Years Day Puducherry, Tamil Nadu only
Saturday April 05 Babu Jagjivan Ram Birthday Andhra Pradesh only
Monday April 07 Public Holiday Assam only. First phase of Lok Sabha elections
Tuesday April 08 Ram Navami Celebrates the birth of Lord Rama to King Dasharatha of Ayodhya
Thursday April 10 Public Holiday Delhi. Allow voting in Lok Sabha elections
Sunday April 13 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Monday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Monday April 14 Tamil New Year Puthandu. Tamil Nadu only
Tuesday April 15 Himachal Day Himachal Pradesh only. The province of Himachal Pradesh was created on 15 April 1948
Tuesday April 15 Bengali New Year Tripura, West Bengal only
Thursday April 17 Public Holiday Karnataka. Allow voting in Lok Sabha elections
Friday April 18 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Thursday May 01 Maharashtra Day Maharashtra (Mumbai) only. Commemorates the formation of the state of Maharashtra on 1 May 1960.
Thursday May 01 May Day Assam, Bihar, Goa, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal only
Thursday May 01 Parashurama Jayanti Himachal Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh only
Friday May 02 Basava Jayanthi Karnataka only. The most important festival of the Lingayats.
Friday May 09 Birthday of Rabindra Nath Tagore Tripura, West Bengal. A Bengali polymath who reshaped literature and music.
Tuesday May 13 Hazrat Alis Birthday Uttar Pradesh only. Son in law of Prophet Muhammad
Wednesday May 14 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Saturday May 31 Maharana Pratap Jayanti Himachal Pradesh only
Sunday June 01 Arjun Dev Martyrdom day Punjab only.
Friday June 13 Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti Gazetted holiday in Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab.
Friday July 25 Jumat-ul-Wida Last Friday of Ramadam
Tuesday July 29 Idul Fitr All states except Goa, Jharkhand and Kerala
Sunday August 10 Raksha Bandhan Gujarat, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh only.
Friday August 15 Independence Day
Sunday August 17 Janmashtami Restricted Holiday. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Monday August 18 Parsi New Year Jamshed Navroz. Mumbai Only
Monday August 18 Janmashtami Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Friday August 29 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Wednesday September 03 Birthday of Baba Sri Chand Marks the birth of the founder of the ascetic sect of Udasis
Saturday September 06 First Onam Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Sunday September 07 Thiruvonam Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Monday September 08 Sree Narayana Guru Jayanti Kerala only. Marks the birth of a key social reformer
Sunday September 21 Sree Narayana Guru Samadhi Kerala only. Marks the death of a key social reformer
Tuesday September 23 Mahalaya Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Wednesday September 24 Mahalaya Karnataka only.
Wednesday October 01 Saptami of Durgapuja Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Thursday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Friday October 03 Dussehra Vijaya Dashami
Friday October 03 Ayudha Puja Karnataka only
Sunday October 05 Bakrid Kerala. Date varies on Lunar cycle
Monday October 06 Idul Juha Bakrid.
Tuesday October 07 Lakshmi Puja Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Wednesday October 08 Maharishi Valmiki Birthday Delhi, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Punjab.
Wednesday October 15 Public Holiday Allow voting in Assembly elections
Wednesday October 22 Deepawali Kerala, Tamil Nadu only.
Thursday October 23 Deewali Deepawali. Except Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal.
Thursday October 23 Kali Puja West Bengal only. Festival dedicated to the Hindu goddess Kali
Friday October 24 Balipadyami Deepavali Karnataka, Maharashtra only
Saturday October 25 Muharram Observed mainly by the Shia Muslim community
Saturday November 01 Kannada Rajyothsava Bangalore Only. Karnataka Formation Day
Saturday November 01 Haryana Day Haryana only.
Tuesday November 04 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Thursday November 06 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of Guru Nanak Sahib, the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Saturday November 08 Kanakadasa Jayanthi Karnataka only
Thursday December 25 Christmas Day
Sunday December 28 Guru Govind Singh Jayanti Chandigarh, Haryana, Punjab only. Birthday of the tenth and final Sikh prophet-teacher

Key

National Holiday
Regional Holiday
Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Other Years

Indian Public Holiday News


Translate this page

             
Powered by Google