Chhath Puja in India in 2024

Chhath Puja in India in 2024
  How long until Chhath Puja?
Chhath Puja
  Dates of Chhath Puja in India
2025 Oct 27
AssamMon, Oct 27Regional Holiday
AssamMon, Oct 27Regional Holiday
BiharMon, Oct 27Regional Holiday
2024 Nov 7, Nov 8
BiharFri, Nov 8Regional Holiday
JharkhandFri, Nov 8Regional Holiday (additional day)
AssamThu, Nov 7Regional Holiday
AssamThu, Nov 7Regional Holiday
BiharThu, Nov 7Regional Holiday
ChhattisgarhThu, Nov 7Regional Holiday
JharkhandThu, Nov 7Regional Holiday
2023 Nov 19, Nov 20
BiharMon, Nov 20Regional Holiday
JharkhandMon, Nov 20Regional Holiday
AssamSun, Nov 19Regional Holiday
AssamSun, Nov 19Regional Holiday
BiharSun, Nov 19Regional Holiday
2022 Oct 30, Oct 31
BiharMon, Oct 31Regional Holiday (additional day)
AssamSun, Oct 30Regional Holiday
BiharSun, Oct 30Regional Holiday
ChhattisgarhSun, Oct 30Regional Holiday
JharkhandSun, Oct 30Regional Holiday
West BengalSun, Oct 30Regional Holiday
2021 Nov 10, Nov 11
BiharThu, Nov 11Regional Holiday (additional day)
AssamWed, Nov 10Regional Holiday
BiharWed, Nov 10Regional Holiday
ChhattisgarhWed, Nov 10Regional Holiday
DelhiWed, Nov 10Regional Holiday
JharkhandWed, Nov 10Regional Holiday
Uttar PradeshWed, Nov 10Regional Holiday
UttarakhandWed, Nov 10Regional Holiday

Chhath is an important Hindu festival dedicated to the worship of the Sun god and his wife.

  Chhath Puja in other countries
Chhath Puja internationally
  Which regions observe Chhath Puja in 2024?
National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a public holiday Govt Holiday
  AssamNov 7
  BiharNov 7, Nov 8

When is Chhath Puja?

Chhath Puja is celebrated on the sixth day of the month of Karthika in the Vikram Samvat, which also means it is the sixth day after Diwali.

This ancient Hindu festival is dedicated to the sun god and his wife and is one of the most popular festivals in eastern Uttar Pradesh and Bihar. It is also an important festival in Nepal.

The festival lasts four days, with the third day generally being a public holiday in certain regions of India.

Traditions of Chhath Puja

During the four days, devotees perform the Puja to thank the Sun god for providing life on earth and seek his blessings and protection. Each day has its own activities and rituals:

Chhath Puja begins with the day known as Nahay Khay. On this first day, devotees take a dip in water and women take a single meal.

On the second day, known as Kharna or Lohanda devotees fast from sunrise to the sunset. After worshipping the Sun and the Moon, they prepare offerings of kheer (a rice pudding), bananas and rice for their family. After eating the offering, they fast for 36 hours without water.

Day three is known as Sanjhiya Gha or Sandhya Arghya. On this day the fast is observed and devotees offer worship to the setting sun.

On Usha Argya, the last day, the fast is broken after morning offerings are made to the rising sun.

In the Hindu tradition, the rays of the sun at sunrise are very important and have healing properties and can cure disease to ensure the health of family, friends, and elders. Devotees will pray in the morning facing east so that the rays fall on their front.

To access the river to perform some of the pujas, steps down to the water called ghats are created. In Delhi alone, the number of ghats run into the hundreds, with over 500 ghats set up in 2018 - this shows the popularity of this festival.

Translate this page