Durga Puja in India in 2022

Durga Puja in India in 2022

  How long until Durga Puja?
Durga Puja
  Dates of Durga Puja in India
2023 Oct 24
AssamTue, Oct 24Regional Holiday
OdishaTue, Oct 24Regional Holiday
RajasthanTue, Oct 24Regional Holiday
SikkimTue, Oct 24Regional Holiday
SikkimTue, Oct 24Regional Holiday
TelanganaTue, Oct 24Regional Holiday
TripuraTue, Oct 24Regional Holiday
West BengalTue, Oct 24Regional Holiday
2022 Oct 4, Oct 5, Oct 6
TelanganaThu, Oct 6Regional Holiday (additional day)
RajasthanWed, Oct 5Regional Holiday
TelanganaWed, Oct 5Regional Holiday
TripuraWed, Oct 5Regional Holiday
West BengalWed, Oct 5Regional Holiday
SikkimTue, Oct 4Regional Holiday
TripuraTue, Oct 4Regional Holiday
2021 Oct 15, Oct 16
TelanganaSat, Oct 16Regional Holiday (additional day)
AssamFri, Oct 15Regional Holiday
BiharFri, Oct 15Regional Holiday
RajasthanFri, Oct 15Regional Holiday
SikkimFri, Oct 15Regional Holiday
SikkimFri, Oct 15Regional Holiday
TelanganaFri, Oct 15Regional Holiday
TripuraFri, Oct 15Regional Holiday
West BengalFri, Oct 15Regional Holiday
2020 Oct 25, Oct 26
AssamMon, Oct 26Regional Holiday
BiharMon, Oct 26Regional Holiday
TelanganaMon, Oct 26Government Holiday
TripuraMon, Oct 26Regional Holiday
West BengalMon, Oct 26Regional Holiday
RajasthanSun, Oct 25Regional Holiday
SikkimSun, Oct 25Regional Holiday
TelanganaSun, Oct 25Regional Holiday
2019 Oct 8
AssamTue, Oct 8Regional Holiday
OdishaTue, Oct 8Regional Holiday
RajasthanTue, Oct 8Regional Holiday
SikkimTue, Oct 8Regional Holiday
SikkimTue, Oct 8Regional Holiday
TelanganaTue, Oct 8Regional Holiday
TripuraTue, Oct 8Regional Holiday
West BengalTue, Oct 8Regional Holiday

Durga Puja is one of the largest Hindu festivals that involves worship of Goddess Durga symbolising power and triumph of good over evil in Hindu mythology.

  Durga Puja in other countries
Durga Puja internationally
  Which regions observe Durga Puja in 2022?
  RajasthanOct 5Regional Holiday
  SikkimOct 4Regional Holiday
  TelanganaOct 5Regional Holiday
  TripuraOct 4, Oct 5Regional Holiday
  West BengalOct 5Regional Holiday

When is Durga Puja?

In India, Durga Puja is a public holiday in several states. The names and dates may differ and some states observe holidays related to the festivals of Dussehra and Navrati which are celebrated on similar dates.

To complicate matters, in some regions the tenth day of both Durga Puja and Dussehra is known as Vijaya Dasami.

Durga Puja, also known as Durgotsava or Mahashtami, is a Hindu festival in South Asia that celebrates the worship of the goddess Durga.

Durga Puja celebrates the ten-armed mother goddess and her victory over the evil buffalo demon Mahishasura.

While celebrated across India, In West Bengal, Assam and Tripura, it is the biggest festival of the year and the most significant cultural event in Bengali Hindu society.

The world was under threat from the evil buffalo demon Mahishasura, that no man or god could defeat. To vanquish the demon, Durga emerged from the collective energies of all the gods. Each of her ten arms brandished the deadliest weapon of each god. Durga was the mother to four gods, Kartikeya, Ganesha, Saraswati, and Lakshmi.

To Hindus, Durga represents the embodiment of shakti, the powerful feminine force that governs all cosmic creation, existence, and change.

Before his battle with Ravana, Lord Rama invoked the goddess and her victory over the buffalo-demon, which ties the festivals of Durga Puja and Dussehra closely together.

Key days during Durga Puja

The rituals of Durga Puja last ten days with the start and the last four days being special festivals that are reflected in public holidays in some states in India.


Mahalaya marks the start of the Durga Puja festival. On this day, the goddess Durga is believed to have descended to Earth and large, elaborately crafted statutes of Durga are set up in homes and decorated podiums, called Pandals.

Maha Saptami

On the seventh day (saptami) of Durga Puja, the goddess started her epic battle against Mahishasura.


Known as Durgashtami, Mahashtami or Durga Ashtami, this is the eighth day of Durga Puja celebrations. Durgastami is one of the important days of Durga Puja and many people may fast on this day. The weapons of the gods used by Durga are worshipped today.

Vijaya Dashami

Also known as Dashain or Tenth day of Navratri or Durgotsav, Vijaya Dashami commemorates the day that Durga appeared riding a lion to slay the Mahisasura. Statutes of Durga are paraded through the streets, then immersed in water.

Durga Puja in Kolkata

In December 2021, UNESCO added Durga Puja to its "Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity" list. The decision was taken during the sixteenth session of the Intergovernmental Committee for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage. Prime Minister Modi, reacting to the development called it "A matter of great pride and joy for every Indian." 

Durga Puja becomes the first festival in Asia to receive the UNESCO heritage tag.

Translate this page