Maha Saptami in India in 2019

Maha Saptami in India in 2019
  How long until Maha Saptami?
This holiday next takes place in 19 days.
  Dates of Maha Saptami in India
2021 Oct 12, Oct 13
TripuraWed, Oct 13Regional Holiday
AssamTue, Oct 12Regional Holiday
OdishaTue, Oct 12Regional Holiday
West BengalTue, Oct 12Regional Holiday
2020 Oct 22
AssamThu, Oct 22Regional Holiday
BiharThu, Oct 22Regional Holiday
OdishaThu, Oct 22Regional Holiday
SikkimThu, Oct 22Regional Holiday
TripuraThu, Oct 22Regional Holiday
West BengalThu, Oct 22Regional Holiday
2019 Oct 5
AssamSat, Oct 5Regional Holiday
OdishaSat, Oct 5Regional Holiday
TripuraSat, Oct 5Regional Holiday
West BengalSat, Oct 5Regional Holiday
Assam, Odisha, West Bengal. On the seventh day of Durga Puja, the goddess started her battle against Mahishasura.
  Which regions observe Maha Saptami in 2019?
Assam  AssamOct 5Regional Holiday
Odisha  OdishaOct 5Regional Holiday
Tripura  TripuraOct 5Regional Holiday
West Bengal  West BengalOct 5Regional Holiday

When is Maha Saptami?

Maha Saptami is the seventh day of Durga Puja celebrations.

Traditions of Maha Saptami

Maha Saptami is also known as Saptami of Durgapuja and is one of the important days of Durga Puja.

The Maha Puja (Great Ceremony) starts on Maha Saptami.

Durga Puja is a Hindu festival in South Asia that celebrates the worship of the goddess Durga.

Durga Puja celebrates the ten-armed mother goddess and her victory over the evil buffalo demon Mahishasura.

The world was under threat from the evil buffalo demon Mahishasura, that no man or god could defeat. To vanquish the demon, Durga emerged from the collective energies of all the gods. Each of her ten arms brandished the deadliest weapon of each god.

On the seventh day (saptami) of Durga Puja, the goddess started her epic battle against Mahishasura which ended with his death on Vijaya Dashami (the 10th day).

Other Key days during Durga Puja

The rituals of Durga Puja last ten days with the start and the last five days being special festivals that are reflected in public holidays in some states in India.


Mahalaya marks the start of the Durga Puja festival. 

Durga Ashtami

This is the eighth day of Durga Puja celebrations, when the weapons used by Durga are worshipped.

Maha Navami

This is the ninth day of Durga Puja. On this day, the victory of Durga over the evil buffalo demon Mahishasura is celebrated. 

Vijaya Dashami

Also known as Dashain or Tenth day of Navratri or Durgotsav, Vijaya Dashami commemorates the day that Durga appeared riding a lion to slay the Mahisasura.

Translate this page