Social

Regions

Advertisements

2013: India

India National public holidays of India in 2013

DayDateHolidayComments
Tuesday January 01 New Years Day Arunachal pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Miizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu only
Sunday January 13 Bhogi Andhra Pradesh Only
Monday January 14 Pongal Also known as Makar Sankranti, Lohri, Bihu, Hadaga, Poki
Tuesday January 15 Uzhavar Tirunal Puducherry, Tamil Nadu only
Friday January 18 Guru Govind Singh Jayanti Chandigarh, Haryana, Punjab only. Birthday of the tenth and final Sikh prophet-teacher
Wednesday January 23 Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti Tripura, West Bengal only. Birthday of a prominent leader in the Indian freedom movement
Friday January 25 Milad-un-Nabi Birthday of Prophet Muhammad
Saturday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Tuesday February 19 Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti Maharashtra (Mumbai) only
Sunday March 10 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Wednesday March 27 Holi
Friday March 29 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Thursday April 11 Ugadi Telugu and Kannada New Year. Karnataka (Bangalore), Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh only.
Sunday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Sunday April 14 Tamil New Year Puthandu. Tamil Nadu only
Saturday April 20 Ram Navami Celebrates the birth of Lord Rama to King Dasharatha of Ayodhya
Tuesday April 23 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Wednesday April 24 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Wednesday May 01 Maharashtra Day Maharashtra (Mumbai) only. Commemorates the formation of the state of Maharashtra on 1 May 1960.
Wednesday May 01 May Day Assam, Bihar, Goa, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal only
Monday May 13 Basava Jayanthi Karnataka only. Birthday of Basvanna, the founder of Lingayatism
Thursday May 16 Public Holiday Arunachal Pradesh only. To allow voting in municipal elections
Friday May 24 Hazrat Alis Birthday Uttar Pradesh only. Son in law of Prophet Muhammad
Saturday May 25 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Wednesday June 12 Arjun Dev Martyrdom day Punjab only.
Sunday June 23 Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti Gazetted holiday in Himachal Pradesh.
Wednesday July 03 Public Holiday Punjab only. Allow voting in elections
Friday August 02 Jumat-ul-Wida Last Friday of Ramadam
Friday August 09 Idul Fitr All states except Goa, Jharkhand, Kerala and Uttar Pradesh
Thursday August 15 Independence Day
Sunday August 18 Parsi New Year Mumbai Only
Wednesday August 28 Janmashtami Restricted Holiday. Bangalore, Delhi. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Monday September 09 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Wednesday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Monday October 14 Dussehra Vijaya Dashami
Tuesday October 15 Idul Juha Bakrid
Wednesday October 16 Id-Ul-Zuha Goa
Friday November 01 Kannada Rajyothsava Bangalore Only. Karnataka Formation Day
Sunday November 03 Deewali Deepawali
Tuesday November 05 Muharram Observed mainly by the Shia Muslim community
Thursday November 14 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Friday November 15 Muharram Day of Ashurah. Delhi, Tamil Nadu
Sunday November 17 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of Guru Nanak Sahib, the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Monday December 23 Birthday of Chaudhary Charan Singh Uttar Pradesh only. Former Prime Minister of India.
Wednesday December 25 Christmas Day

Key

National Holiday
Regional Holiday
Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Other Years


Translate this page

             
Powered by Google