Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in India in 2018

India List of National and regional Public holidays of India in 2018

Day Date Holiday Comments
Monday January 01 Jan 1 New Year's Day Arunachal pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Miizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana
Tuesday January 02 Jan 2 Mannam Jayanthi Kerala Only
Friday January 12 Jan 12 Birthday of Swami Vivekananda West Bengal only
Saturday January 13 Jan 13 Bhogi Telangana
Sunday January 14 Jan 14 Pongal Also known as Makar Sankranti, Lohri, Bihu, Hadaga, Poki
Sunday January 14 Jan 14 Sankranti Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Karnataka, Telangana
Tuesday January 16 Jan 16 Thiruvalluvar Day Tamil Nadu only
Wednesday January 17 Jan 17 Uzhavar Tirunal Puducherry, Tamil Nadu only
Monday January 22 Jan 22 Vasant Panchami Haryana, Odisha, Punjab, Tripura, West Bengal
Tuesday January 23 Jan 23 Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti Assam, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal. Birthday of a prominent leader in the Indian freedom movement
Wednesday January 24 Jan 24 Sir Chhotu Ram Jayanti Haryana only
Thursday January 25 Jan 25 Statehood Day Himachal Pradesh only
Friday January 26 Jan 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Wednesday January 31 Jan 31 Me-dam-me-phi Assam. Ancestor festival
Saturday February 10 Feb 10 Maharshi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti Haryana only
Tuesday February 13 Feb 13 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Friday February 16 Feb 16 Losar Sikkim only. Tibetan New Year
Friday February 16 Feb 16 Sonam Lhochar Sikkim only. Tamang New Year
Monday February 19 Feb 19 Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti Maharashtra only
Thursday March 01 Mar 1 Doljatra Holi Dahan
Thursday March 01 Mar 1 Guru Ravidas Birthday Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab only. Full moon of Magh
Friday March 02 Mar 2 Holi
Sunday March 18 Mar 18 Ugadi Telugu and Kannada New Year. Karnataka, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh
Monday March 19 Mar 19 Cheti Chand Gujarat only.
Thursday March 22 Mar 22 Bihar Divas Bihar Only
Friday March 23 Mar 23 Shaheedi Diwas of Bhagat Singh, Rajguru & Sukhdev Haryana only
Friday March 23 Mar 23 Shahidi Divas S. Bhagat Singh Ji Punjab, Rajasthan only
Thursday March 29 Mar 29 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Thursday March 29 Mar 29 Maundy Thursday Kerala only
Friday March 30 Mar 30 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Friday March 30 Mar 30 Hazrat Alis Birthday Uttar Pradesh only. Son in law of Prophet Muhammad
Sunday April 01 Apr 1 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Sunday April 01 Apr 1 Odisha Day Odisha only. Utkal Divas
Thursday April 05 Apr 5 Babu Jagjivan Ram Birthday Telangana only
Friday April 13 Apr 13 Biju Festival Tripura only
Friday April 13 Apr 13 Bohag Bihu Holiday Assam only
Saturday April 14 Apr 14 Ashoka's Birth Anniversary Bihar only
Saturday April 14 Apr 14 Bengali New Year Tripura, West Bengal only
Saturday April 14 Apr 14 Bohag Bihu Assamese New Year. Arunachal Pradesh, Assam
Saturday April 14 Apr 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Saturday April 14 Apr 14 Maha Vishuba Sankranti Odisha
Saturday April 14 Apr 14 Tamil New Year Puthandu. Tamil Nadu only
Saturday April 14 Apr 14 Vaisakhi Haryana, Punjab only
Sunday April 15 Apr 15 Himachal Day Himachal Pradesh only. The province of Himachal Pradesh was created on 15 April 1948
Sunday April 15 Apr 15 Vishu Kerala Only. First day of Tulu calendar
Wednesday April 18 Apr 18 Parashurama Jayanti Himachal Pradesh only
Wednesday April 18 Apr 18 Parashurama Jayanti Haryana, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh only
Thursday April 19 Apr 19 Basava Jayanthi Karnataka only. The most important festival of the Lingayats. 3rd Vaiskha
Monday April 23 Apr 23 Garia Puja Tripura only
Wednesday April 25 Apr 25 Ram Navami Celebrates the birth of Lord Rama to King Dasharatha of Ayodhya
Tuesday May 01 May 1 Maharashtra Day Maharashtra only. Commemorates the formation of the state of Maharashtra on 1 May 1960
Tuesday May 01 May 1 May Day Many states
Monday May 07 May 7 Birthday of Rabindra Nath Tagore Tripura, West Bengal
Wednesday May 16 May 16 State Day Sikkim only
Friday May 25 May 25 Birthday of Kazi Nazrul Islam Tripura only.
Tuesday May 29 May 29 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Friday June 08 Jun 8 Jumat-ul-Wida Last Friday of Ramadam
Thursday June 14 Jun 14 Pahili Raja Odisha
Friday June 15 Jun 15 Idul Fitr Many states
Friday June 15 Jun 15 Raja Sankranti Odisha only
Saturday June 16 Jun 16 Guru Arjun Dev Martyrdom day Punjab Only
Saturday June 16 Jun 16 Maharana Pratap Jayanti Haryana, Himachal Pradesh only
Thursday June 28 Jun 28 Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti Gazetted holiday in Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab.
Saturday July 14 Jul 14 Ratha Yatra Odisha
Friday July 20 Jul 20 Kharchi Puja Tripura only
Tuesday July 31 Jul 31 Martyrdom Day of Shaheed Udham Singh Haryana, Punjab only
Friday August 03 Aug 3 Ker Puja Tripura only
Saturday August 11 Aug 11 Karkkadaka Vavu Kerala
Wednesday August 15 Aug 15 Independence Day
Friday August 17 Aug 17 Parsi New Year Jamshed Navroz. Gujarat, Mumbai Only
Wednesday August 22 Aug 22 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Friday August 24 Aug 24 First Onam Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Saturday August 25 Aug 25 Thiruvonam Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Sunday August 26 Aug 26 Raksha Bandhan Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh only. Shravana Purnima
Sunday August 26 Aug 26 Third Onam Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Monday August 27 Aug 27 Sree Narayana Guru Jayanti Kerala only
Saturday September 01 Sep 1 Parkash Utsav Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji Punjab only
Sunday September 02 Sep 2 Sreekrishna Jayanthi Kerala, Odisha. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Monday September 03 Sep 3 Janmashtami Restricted Holiday. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Monday September 10 Sep 10 Birthday of Baba Sri Chand Ji Punjab only
Tuesday September 11 Sep 11 Muharram Observed mainly by the Shia Muslim community
Wednesday September 12 Sep 12 Teej Haryana only
Wednesday September 12 Sep 12 Saragarhi Day State holiday in Punjab
Thursday September 13 Sep 13 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Friday September 14 Sep 14 Nuakhai Odisha only. Day after Ganesh Chaturthi
Thursday September 20 Sep 20 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Friday September 21 Sep 21 Sree Narayana Guru Samadhi Kerala only. Marks the death of a key social reformer
Sunday September 23 Sep 23 Haryana's Heroes' Martyrdom Day Haryana only
Friday September 28 Sep 28 Birthday of S. Bhagat Singh Ji Punjab only
Tuesday October 02 Oct 2 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Tuesday October 09 Oct 9 Mahalaya Karnataka, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Wednesday October 10 Oct 10 Maharaja Agrasen Jayanati Haryana, Punjab, Rajasthan only
Tuesday October 16 Oct 16 Maha Saptami Assam, Odisha, West Bengal
Wednesday October 17 Oct 17 Durgastami Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Odisha, Telangana, West Bengal
Thursday October 18 Oct 18 Ayudha Puja Karnataka, Tamil Nadu
Thursday October 18 Oct 18 Mahanavami Bihar, Kerala, Odisha only. Ninth Day of Dussehra
Thursday October 18 Oct 18 Navami of Durga Puja Assam, Tripura,West Bengal
Friday October 19 Oct 19 Durga Puja Mahastami. Odisha, Sikkim only
Friday October 19 Oct 19 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Wednesday October 24 Oct 24 Lakshmi Puja Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Wednesday October 24 Oct 24 Maharishi Valmiki Birthday Delhi, Haryana, Karnataka, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab
Thursday November 01 Nov 1 Haryana Day Haryana only.
Thursday November 01 Nov 1 Kannada Rajyothsava Bangalore Only. Karnataka Formation Day
Tuesday November 06 Nov 6 Narak Chaturdashi Karnataka
Tuesday November 06 Nov 6 Deepavali Kerala
Wednesday November 07 Nov 7 Deepavali Assam, Tamil Nadu, Tripura
Wednesday November 07 Nov 7 Deepavali Karnataka, Maharashtra
Wednesday November 07 Nov 7 Deewali Deepawali. Except Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal.
Wednesday November 07 Nov 7 Kali Puja Assam, Odisha, West Bengal. Festival dedicated to the Hindu goddess Kali
Thursday November 08 Nov 8 Vikram Samvat New Year Gujarat only.
Thursday November 08 Nov 8 Vishvakarma Day Day after Dewali
Friday November 09 Nov 9 Bhai Bij Gujarat only.
Wednesday November 14 Nov 14 Chhath Puja Assam, Bihar, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh
Tuesday November 20 Nov 20 Id-e-Milad
Friday November 23 Nov 23 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Friday November 23 Nov 23 Rasa Purnima Odisha only
Monday December 03 Dec 3 World Disabled Day Tripura only
Sunday December 16 Dec 16 Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji Punjab only
Tuesday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states
Wednesday December 26 Dec 26 Boxing Day
Wednesday December 26 Dec 26 Shaheed Udham Singh's Birthday Haryana only

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Public Holiday News

Translate this page