Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in India in 2019

India List of National and regional Public holidays of India in 2019

Day Date Holiday Comments
Tuesday January 01 New Year's Day Arunachal pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Miizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana
Saturday January 12 Birthday of Swami Vivekananda West Bengal only
Monday January 14 Bhogi Telangana
Monday January 14 Pongal Also known as Makar Sankranti, Lohri, Bihu, Hadaga, Poki
Monday January 14 Sankranti Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Karnataka, Telangana
Wednesday January 16 Thiruvalluvar Day Tamil Nadu only
Thursday January 17 Uzhavar Tirunal Puducherry, Tamil Nadu only
Wednesday January 23 Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti Assam, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal. Birthday of a prominent leader in the Indian freedom movement
Friday January 25 Sir Chhotu Ram Jayanti Haryana only
Friday January 25 Statehood Day Himachal Pradesh only
Saturday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Thursday January 31 Me-dam-me-phi Assam. Ancestor festival
Tuesday February 05 Losar Sikkim only. Tibetan New Year
Tuesday February 05 Sonam Lhochar Sikkim only. Tamang New Year
Sunday February 10 Vasant Panchami Haryana, Odisha, Punjab, Tripura, West Bengal
Tuesday February 19 Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti Maharashtra only
Tuesday February 19 Guru Ravidas Birthday Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab only. Full moon of Magh
Thursday February 28 Maharshi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti Haryana only
Monday March 04 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Wednesday March 20 Hazrat Alis Birthday Uttar Pradesh only. Son in law of Prophet Muhammad
Thursday March 21 Doljatra Holi Dahan
Thursday March 21 Holi
Friday March 22 Bihar Divas Bihar Only
Saturday March 23 Shaheedi Diwas of Bhagat Singh, Rajguru & Sukhdev Haryana only
Saturday March 23 Shahidi Divas S. Bhagat Singh Ji Punjab, Rajasthan only
Monday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Monday April 01 Odisha Day Odisha only. Utkal Divas
Friday April 05 Babu Jagjivan Ram Birthday Telangana only
Saturday April 06 Ugadi Telugu and Kannada New Year. Karnataka, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh
Sunday April 07 Cheti Chand Gujarat only.
Saturday April 13 Biju Festival Tripura only
Saturday April 13 Bohag Bihu Holiday Assam only
Sunday April 14 Ashoka's Birth Anniversary Bihar only
Sunday April 14 Bengali New Year Tripura, West Bengal only
Sunday April 14 Bohag Bihu Assamese New Year. Arunachal Pradesh, Assam
Sunday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Sunday April 14 Maha Vishuba Sankranti Odisha
Sunday April 14 Tamil New Year Puthandu. Tamil Nadu only
Sunday April 14 Vaisakhi Haryana, Punjab only
Sunday April 14 Ram Navami Celebrates the birth of Lord Rama to King Dasharatha of Ayodhya
Monday April 15 Himachal Day Himachal Pradesh only. The province of Himachal Pradesh was created on 15 April 1948
Monday April 15 Vishu Kerala Only. First day of Tulu calendar
Tuesday April 16 Basava Jayanthi Karnataka only. The most important festival of the Lingayats. 3rd Vaiskha
Wednesday April 17 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Thursday April 18 Maundy Thursday Kerala only
Friday April 19 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Sunday April 21 Garia Puja Tripura only
Wednesday May 01 Maharashtra Day Maharashtra only. Commemorates the formation of the state of Maharashtra on 1 May 1960
Wednesday May 01 May Day Many states
Tuesday May 07 Parashurama Jayanti Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh only
Tuesday May 07 Birthday of Rabindra Nath Tagore Tripura, West Bengal
Thursday May 16 State Day Sikkim only
Sunday May 19 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Friday May 24 Birthday of Kazi Nazrul Islam Tripura only.
Friday May 24 Guru Arjun Dev Martyrdom day Punjab Only
Friday May 24 Maharana Pratap Jayanti Haryana, Himachal Pradesh only
Friday May 31 Jumat-ul-Wida Last Friday of Ramadam
Wednesday June 05 Idul Fitr Many states
Friday June 14 Pahili Raja Odisha
Saturday June 15 Raja Sankranti Odisha only
Monday June 17 Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti Gazetted holiday in Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab.
Sunday June 23 Kharchi Puja Tripura only
Thursday July 04 Ratha Yatra Odisha
Sunday July 07 Ker Puja Tripura only
Wednesday July 31 Martyrdom Day of Shaheed Udham Singh Haryana, Punjab only
Wednesday July 31 Karkkadaka Vavu Kerala
Monday August 12 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Thursday August 15 Independence Day
Saturday August 17 Parsi New Year Jamshed Navroz. Gujarat, Mumbai Only
Saturday August 24 Sreekrishna Jayanthi Kerala, Odisha. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Saturday August 24 Janmashtami Restricted Holiday. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Saturday August 31 Parkash Utsav Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji Punjab only
Sunday September 01 Muharram Observed mainly by the Shia Muslim community
Sunday September 01 Teej Haryana only
Monday September 02 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Tuesday September 03 Nuakhai Odisha only. Day after Ganesh Chaturthi
Saturday September 07 Birthday of Baba Sri Chand Ji Punjab only
Tuesday September 10 First Onam Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Tuesday September 10 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Wednesday September 11 Thiruvonam Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Thursday September 12 Third Onam Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Thursday September 12 Saragarhi Day State holiday in Punjab
Friday September 13 Fourth Onam Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Saturday September 14 Raksha Bandhan Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh only. Shravana Purnima
Friday September 20 Sree Narayana Guru Samadhi Kerala only. Marks the death of a key social reformer
Monday September 23 Haryana's Heroes' Martyrdom Day Haryana only
Saturday September 28 Birthday of S. Bhagat Singh Ji Punjab only
Sunday September 29 Mahalaya Karnataka, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Sunday September 29 Maharaja Agrasen Jayanati Haryana, Punjab, Rajasthan only
Wednesday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Saturday October 05 Maha Saptami Assam, Odisha, West Bengal
Sunday October 06 Durgastami Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Odisha, Telangana, West Bengal
Sunday October 06 Mahanavami Bihar, Kerala, Odisha only. Ninth Day of Dussehra
Sunday October 06 Navami of Durga Puja Assam, Tripura,West Bengal
Monday October 07 Ayudha Puja Karnataka, Tamil Nadu
Tuesday October 08 Durga Puja Mahastami. Odisha, Sikkim only
Tuesday October 08 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Sunday October 13 Maharishi Valmiki Birthday Delhi, Haryana, Karnataka, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab
Sunday October 27 Deepavali Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Tripura
Sunday October 27 Deepavali Karnataka, Maharashtra
Sunday October 27 Deewali Deepawali. Except Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal.
Sunday October 27 Kali Puja Assam, Odisha, West Bengal. Festival dedicated to the Hindu goddess Kali
Monday October 28 Vikram Samvat New Year Gujarat only.
Monday October 28 Vikram Samvat New Year Gujarat only.
Monday October 28 Vishvakarma Day Day after Dewali
Tuesday October 29 Lakshmi Puja Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Tuesday October 29 Bhai Bij Gujarat only.
Friday November 01 Haryana Day Haryana only.
Friday November 01 Kannada Rajyothsava Bangalore Only. Karnataka Formation Day
Saturday November 02 Chhath Puja Assam, Bihar, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh
Sunday November 10 Id-e-Milad
Tuesday November 12 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Tuesday November 12 Rasa Purnima Odisha only
Sunday November 24 Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji Punjab only
Tuesday November 26 Narak Chaturdashi Karnataka
Tuesday December 03 World Disabled Day Tripura only
Wednesday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states
Thursday December 26 Boxing Day
Thursday December 26 Shaheed Udham Singh's Birthday Haryana only

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Public Holiday News

Translate this page