Social

Options

Key Regions

Other Regions

Advertisements


Public Holidays in Switzerland in 2016

Switzerland Upcoming Public Holidays in Switzerland

Whitmonday
Whit Monday

16 May 2016 This Regional holiday is in 10 days. Commemorates the coming of the Holy Spirit in the form of flames to the Apostles.

Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi

26 May 2016 This Regional holiday is in 20 days. The Feast of Corpus Christi is a Catholic festival celebrated on the second Thursday af...

Fête d'Indépendance
Fête d'Indépendance

23 June 2016 This Regional holiday is in 48 days. On 23 June 1974, Jura seceded from Berne becoming the 23rd Canton

Switzerland National public holidays of Switzerland in 2016

DayDateHolidayComments
Friday January 01 New Years Day Neujahrstag
Saturday January 02 Berchtolds Day Aargau, Bern, Fribourg, Glarus, Jura, Lucerne, Neuchâtel, Obwalden, Schaffhausen, Solothurn, Thurgau, Vaud, Zug, Zurich
Wednesday January 06 Three Kings Day Graubünden, Lucerne, Schwyz, Ticino, Uri
Tuesday March 01 Republic Day Neuchâtel only. In 1848, Neuchâtel declared itself a republic and part of Switzerland
Saturday March 19 St Josephs Day Graubünden, Lucerne, Nidwalden, Schwyz, Solothurn, Ticino, Uri, Valais only
Friday March 25 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday March 28 Easter Monday All regions except Ticino. Monday after Easter Sunday
Thursday April 07 Näfelser Fahrt Glarus only. First Thursday in April
Monday April 18 Sechselauten Afternoon, Zurich only. 3rd Monday in April
Sunday May 01 Labour Day International Workers Day. Holiday in 11 cantons
Thursday May 05 Ascension Day 40 days after Easter
Sunday May 08 Mother's Day 2nd Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Monday May 16 Whitmonday All regions except Valais. Also Known as Pentecost Monday
Thursday May 26 Corpus Christi Aargau, Appenzell Innerrhoden, Fribourg, Jura, Lucerne, Nidwalden, Obwalden, Ticino, Uri, Valais, Zug
Sunday June 05 Fathers Day 1st Sunday in June
Thursday June 23 Fête d'Indépendance Jura only
Wednesday June 29 Saint Peter and Saint Paul Graubünden, Ticino only
Monday August 01 National Day Bundesfeier
Monday August 15 Assumption Day Aargau, Appenzell Innerrhoden, Fribourg, Jura, Lucerne, Nidwalden, Obwalden, Schwyz, Solothurn, St. Gallen, Ticino, Uri, Valais, Zug only
Thursday September 08 Jeûne genevois Geneva only. Thursday after 1st Sunday in September
Monday September 12 Knabenschiessen Afternoon, Zurich only. Monday after 2nd weekend in September
Sunday September 18 Swiss Federal Fast All regions except Geneva. Third Sunday in September
Monday September 19 Bettagsmontag Bern, Neuchâtel, Vaud. Monday after 3rd Sunday in September
Sunday September 25 Saint Nicholas of Flüe Obwalden only
Thursday December 08 Immaculate Conception Day Regional Holiday
Sunday December 25 Christmas Day
Monday December 26 St Stephens Day Celebrated on 26th December. Except Geneva, Jura, Neuch
Saturday December 31 Restoration Day Geneva only. Commemorates the re-establishment of Geneva as a republic in 1813

Key

National Holiday
Regional Holiday
Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Holidays are observed on their calendar date. If the date of a holiday falls on a Saturday or Sunday, then the holiday will not be moved to a weekday.

Other Years


Translate this page

             
Powered by Google