Sri Lankan Public Holidays for 2020 Announced


Sri Lankan Public Holidays for 2020 Announced

by Public Holiday News

Colombo, Jun 10th 2019

The Public and Bank Holidays for Sri Lanka in 2020 were announced in an Extraordinary Gazette notification on June 7th 2019.

Internal, Home Affairs, Provincial Councils and Local Government Minister Vajira Abeywardana issued the Gazette notification

Of the 26 listed holidays, six fall on a Saturday or Sunday. May is the month with the most public holidays with May day, Vesak and Eid al-Fitr all falling on weekdays. July and November are months with no weekday holidays as the Poya days fall on weekends and Diwali falls on a Saturday in November.

The list of Public and Bank Holidays for 2020 are shown below.

Planning a trip to Sri Lanka?

National holidays in Sri Lanka in 2020

Weekday Date Holiday Comments
Friday Duruthu Full Moon Poya
Wednesday Tamil Thai Pongal Day
Tuesday National Day
Saturday Navam Full Moon Poya
Friday Mahasivarathri Day
Monday Madin Full Moon Poya
Tuesday Bak Full Moon Poya
Friday Good Friday
Sunday Sinhala and Tamil New Year Eve
Monday Sinhala and Tamil New Year
Friday Labour Day International Workers' Day
Thursday Vesak Full Moon Poya Birth of Buddha
Friday Vesak Full Moon Poya Holiday
Monday Id-Ul-Fitr Ramazan Festival Day
Friday Poson Full Moon Poya
Saturday Esala Full Moon Poya
Saturday Idul Adha Hajjhi Festival Day
Monday Nikini Full Moon Poya
Tuesday Binara Full Moon Poya
Thursday Adhi-Vap Full Moon Poya
Friday Milad-Un-Nabi Birthday of Prophet Muhammad
Friday Vap Full Moon Poya
Saturday Deepavali Festival Day Dewali
Sunday Ill Full Moon Poya
Friday Christmas Day
Tuesday Unduvap Full Moon Poya

Translate this page