Social

Options

Advertisements


Bank Holidays in West Bengal in 2017

West Bengal Upcoming Public Holidays in West Bengal

Idul Juha
Eid al-Adha

2 September 2017 This Regional holiday is in 15 days. Commemorates the Prophet Abrahams willingness to sacrifice everything for God

Mahalaya
Mahalaya

19 September 2017 This Regional holiday is in 32 days. Marks the first day of the festival of Durga Puja

Saptami of Durgapuja
Saptami of Durgapuja

27 September 2017 This Regional holiday is in 40 days. Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only

India National and Regional Public holidays of West Bengal in 2017

DayDateHolidayComments
Thursday January 12 Birthday of Swami Vivekananda West Bengal only.
Monday January 23 Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti Assam, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal. Birthday of a prominent leader in the Indian freedom movement
Thursday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Wednesday February 01 Vasant Panchami Haryana, Odisha,Tripura, Punjab , West Bengal
Sunday March 12 Doljatra Holi Dahan. Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal.
Saturday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Friday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Friday April 14 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Saturday April 15 Bengali New Year Tripura, West Bengal only
Monday May 01 May Day Assam, Bihar, Goa, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Punjab, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal only
Tuesday May 09 Birthday of Rabindra Nath Tagore West Bengal
Wednesday May 10 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Monday June 26 Idul Fitr Many states
Tuesday August 15 Independence Day
Saturday September 02 Idul Juha Eid al-Adha
Tuesday September 19 Mahalaya Karnataka, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Wednesday September 27 Saptami of Durgapuja Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only
Thursday September 28 Durga Puja Mahastami. Odisha, Sikkim, Tripura, West Bengal
Friday September 29 Mahanavami Ninth Day of Dussehra
Saturday September 30 Dussehra Vijaya Dashami
Sunday October 01 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Monday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Thursday October 05 Lakshmi Puja Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Thursday October 19 Kali Puja Odisha, West Bengal. Festival dedicated to the Hindu goddess Kali
Saturday November 04 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of Guru Nanak Sahib, the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page