Social

Options

Advertisements


Bank Holidays in West Bengal in 2017

West Bengal Upcoming Public Holidays in West Bengal

Christmas Day
Christmas Day

25 December 2016 This Regional holiday is in 17 days. The day celebrates the Nativity of Jesus which (traditionally, but unlikely in reality)...

Birthday of Swami Vivekananda
Birthday of Swami Vivekananda

12 January 2017 This Regional holiday is in 35 days. West Bengal only. Swami Vivekananda was an Indian Hindu monk and chief disciple of the ...

Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti
Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti

23 January 2017 This Regional holiday is in 46 days. Subhas Chandra Bose was an Indian nationalist who attempte to rid India of British rule...

India National and Regional Public holidays of West Bengal in 2017

DayDateHolidayComments
Thursday January 12 Birthday of Swami Vivekananda West Bengal only.
Monday January 23 Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti Assam, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal. Birthday of a prominent leader in the Indian freedom movement
Thursday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Wednesday February 01 Vasant Panchami Haryana, Odisha,Tripura, West Bengal only
Sunday March 12 Doljatra Holi Dahan. Odisha, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal only.
Saturday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Sunday April 09 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Friday April 14 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Saturday April 15 Bengali New Year Tripura, West Bengal only
Monday May 01 May Day Assam, Bihar, Goa, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal only
Tuesday May 09 Birthday of Rabindra Nath Tagore Tripura, West Bengal. A Bengali polymath who reshaped literature and music.
Monday June 26 Idul Fitr Many states
Tuesday August 15 Independence Day
Saturday September 02 Idul Juha Many states
Tuesday September 19 Mahalaya Karnataka, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Wednesday September 27 Saptami of Durgapuja Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only
Saturday September 30 Dussehra Vijaya Dashami
Sunday October 01 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Monday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Thursday October 05 Lakshmi Puja Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Wednesday October 18 Kali Puja West Bengal only. Festival dedicated to the Hindu goddess Kali
Saturday November 04 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of Guru Nanak Sahib, the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Monday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page