Mahalaya in West Bengal in 2022

Mahalaya in West Bengal in 2022

  How long until Mahalaya?
  Dates of Mahalaya in West Bengal
2024 Wed, Oct 2Regional Holiday
2023 Sat, Oct 14Regional Holiday
2022 Sun, Sep 25Regional Holiday
2021 Wed, Oct 6Regional Holiday
2020 Thu, Sep 17Regional Holiday

Marks the first day of the festival of Durga Puja

In India, Mahalaya is a public holiday in several states.

Mahalaya is celebrated on Sarvapitri Amavasya (new moon) in the month of Bhadrapada.

Traditions of Mahalaya

Mahalaya marks the start of the Durga Puja festival. On this day, the goddess Durga is believed to have descended to Earth.

Mahalaya is marked by large, elaborately crafted statutes of Durga which are set up in homes and on decorated podiums called Pandals.

Mahalaya also marks the end of Pitri Paksha, a 16 day period when Hindus pay homage to their ancestors.

Durga Puja

Durga Puja celebrates the ten-armed mother goddess and her victory over the evil buffalo demon Mahishasura.

While celebrated across India, In West Bengal, Assam and Tripura, it is the biggest festival of the year and the most significant cultural event in Bengali Hindu society.

The rituals of Durga Puja last ten days with the start and the last five days being special festivals that are reflected in public holidays in some states in India.

Translate this page