Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in New Zealand in 2019

New Zealand Upcoming Holidays in New Zealand

Otago Anniversary Day
Otago Anniversary Day

25 March 2019 This Regional holiday is in 6 days. Otago Anniversary Day is 23 March, but is celebrated on the closest Monday. In 1848 set...

Good Friday
Good Friday

19 April 2019 This National holiday is in 31 days. Good Friday occurs on the Friday before Easter. The day commemorates the Crucifixion of...

Easter Monday
Easter Monday

22 April 2019 This National holiday is in 34 days. Easter is probably the most important holiday of the Christian year, celebrating the Re...

New Zealand List of National Public holidays of New Zealand in 2019

Day Date Holiday Comments
Tuesday January 01 New Year's Day
Wednesday January 02 Day after New Year's Day
Monday January 21 Wellington Anniversary Day Monday closest to 22 January
Monday January 28 Auckland Anniversary Day Monday nearest to January 29 (Auckland Anniversary Day)
Monday February 04 Nelson Anniversary Day Monday nearest to February 1
Wednesday February 06 Waitangi Day National Day
Monday March 11 Taranaki Anniversary Day Second Monday in March
Monday March 25 Otago Anniversary Day Monday nearest to the actual day
Friday April 19 Good Friday The Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday April 22 Easter Monday Monday after Easter Sunday
Tuesday April 23 Southland Anniversary Day Observed on Easter Tuesday
Thursday April 25 Anzac Day
Sunday May 12 Mother's Day 2nd Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Monday June 03 Queen's Birthday The first Monday in June
Sunday September 01 Father's Day 1st Sunday in September. Not a public holiday
Monday September 23 South Canterbury Day Fourth Monday in September
Friday October 25 Hawkes Bay Anniversary Day Friday before Labour Day
Monday October 28 Labour Day The fourth Monday in October
Monday November 04 Marlborough Anniversary Day First Monday after Labour Day
Friday November 15 Christchurch Show Day Northern and Central Canterbury. Second Friday after the first Tuesday in November
Monday December 02 Chatham Islands Anniversary Day Monday nearest to November 30
Monday December 02 Westland Anniversary Day Monday nearest to December 1 (Greymouth)
Wednesday December 25 Christmas Day
Thursday December 26 Boxing Day

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Statutory holidays are legislated by several Acts of Parliament, particularly the Holidays Act 2003.
  • Since 2014, if ANZAC Day and Waitangi Day fall on weekend the following Monday will be a holiday.

Translate this page