Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in Japan in 2019

Japan When is the next Public Holiday in Japan?

Labour Thanksgiving Day
Labour Thanksgiving Day

23 November 2018 This National holiday is in 5 days. Labor Thanksgiving Day is a modern name for the ritual of Harvest Festival

The Emperor's Birthday
The Emperor's Birthday

23 December 2018 This National holiday is in 35 days. The birthday of the current Emperor of Japan is always celebrated as a national holiday

The Emperor's Birthday (observed)
The Emperors Birthday (observed)

24 December 2018 This National holiday is in 36 days. Monday 24 December 2018 is a public holiday as the Emperor's Birthday falls on a Sunday

Japan List of National Public holidays of Japan in 2019

Day Date Holiday Comments
Tuesday January 01 New Year's Day Gantan
Monday January 14 Coming-of-age Day Seijin no Hi. 2nd Monday of January
Monday February 11 National Foundation Day
Thursday March 21 Vernal Equinox Day March 20 or March 21
Monday April 29 Showa Day Part of Golden Week
Tuesday April 30 Public Holiday Bridge holiday
Wednesday May 01 Emperor's Coronation
Thursday May 02 Public Holiday Bridge holiday
Friday May 03 Constitution Memorial Day Part of Golden Week
Saturday May 04 Greenery Day Part of Golden Week
Sunday May 05 Children's Day Kodomo no Hi. Part of Golden Week
Monday May 06 Children's Day (observed) Kodomo no Hi. Part of Golden Week
Monday July 15 Marine Day Umi no Hi. 3rd Monday of July
Sunday August 11 Mountain Day August 11 or following Monday if it falls on a Sunday
Monday August 12 Mountain Day (observed) August 11 or following Monday if it falls on a Sunday
Monday September 16 Respect for the Aged Day Keiro no Hi. 3rd Monday of September
Monday September 23 Autumnal Equinox Day September 23 or September 24
Monday October 14 Health-Sports Day Taiiku no Hi. 2nd Monday of October
Sunday November 03 Culture Day November 3 or following Monday if it falls on a Sunday
Monday November 04 Culture Day (observed) November 3 or following Monday if it falls on a Sunday
Saturday November 23 Labour Thanksgiving Day November 23 or following Monday if it falls on a Sunday

Key

National Holiday

Notes

  • With the exception of New Year's Day, if a holiday falls on a Sunday, the following day is treated as a holiday instead.
  • If Respect for the aged day falls on 21 September and Autumnal Equinox falls in 23 September, then 22 September is declared a holiday - creating 'Silver Week'.

Public Holiday News

Translate this page