Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in Germany in 2018

Germany When are the next Holidays in Germany?

Repentance Day
Repentance Day

21 November 2018 This Regional holiday is in 5 days. Saxony. Protestant churches celebrate a Day of Repentance and Prayer on the Wednesday b...

Christmas Day
Christmas Day

25 December 2018 This National holiday is in 39 days. The day celebrates the Nativity of Jesus, the date which according to tradition took pl...

St. Stephen's Day
St. Stephen's Day

26 December 2018 This National holiday is in 40 days. The second day of Christmas is known as Boxing Day or St. Stephens Day. St Stephen was...

Germany List of national public holidays of Germany in 2018

Day Date Holiday Comments
Monday January 01 New Year's Day
Saturday January 06 Three Kings Day Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, Saxony-Anhalt
Monday February 12 Fasching Fastnacht. Not a Public Holiday
Friday March 30 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday April 02 Easter Monday Monday after Easter Sunday
Tuesday May 01 Labour Day
Thursday May 10 Ascension Day Himmelfahrt. 40 days after Easter
Thursday May 10 Father's Day Celebrated on Ascension Day
Sunday May 13 Mother's Day 2nd Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Monday May 21 Whit Monday 7th Monday after Easter. Also Known as Pentecost Monday
Thursday May 31 Corpus Christi Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, Hesse, North Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate, Saarland
Wednesday August 15 Assumption Day Bavaria, Saarland
Saturday September 22 Oktoberfest Start of Oktoberfest. Not a public holiday.
Wednesday October 03 German Unity Day Celebrated on October 3rd
Wednesday October 31 Day of Reformation Several states
Thursday November 01 All Saints' Day Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, North Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate, Saarland
Wednesday November 21 Repentance Day Saxony. Wednesday before November 23
Tuesday December 25 Christmas Day
Wednesday December 26 St. Stephen's Day Second day of Christmas

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Except for German Unity Day, public holidays in Germany are determined by the federal states.
  • Holidays that fall on a weekend are not observed on a weekday instead.

Public Holiday News

Translate this page