Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in Tamil Nadu in 2014

India National and Regional Public holidays of Tamil Nadu in 2014

DayDateHolidayComments
Wednesday January 01 Jan 1 New Years Day Arunachal pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Miizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu only
Tuesday January 14 Jan 14 Milad-un-Nabi Birthday of Prophet Muhammad
Tuesday January 14 Jan 14 Pongal Also known as Makar Sankranti, Lohri, Bihu, Hadaga, Poki
Wednesday January 15 Jan 15 Pongal Also known as Makar Sankranti, Lohri, Bihu, Hadaga, Poki
Thursday January 16 Jan 16 Uzhavar Tirunal Puducherry, Tamil Nadu only
Sunday January 26 Jan 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Monday March 31 Mar 31 Telugu New Years Day Puducherry, Tamil Nadu only
Sunday April 13 Apr 13 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Monday April 14 Apr 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Monday April 14 Apr 14 Tamil New Year Puthandu. Tamil Nadu only
Friday April 18 Apr 18 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Thursday May 01 May 1 May Day Assam, Bihar, Goa, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal only
Tuesday July 29 Jul 29 Idul Fitr All states except Goa, Jharkhand
Friday August 15 Aug 15 Independence Day
Sunday August 17 Aug 17 Janmashtami Restricted Holiday. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Friday August 29 Aug 29 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Thursday October 02 Oct 2 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Friday October 03 Oct 3 Dussehra Vijaya Dashami
Monday October 06 Oct 6 Idul Juha Bakrid.
Wednesday October 22 Oct 22 Deepawali Kerala, Tamil Nadu only.
Tuesday November 04 Nov 4 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah

Key

National Holiday
Regional Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.


Translate this page

               
Powered by Google