Public Holidays in Germany in 2016

Germany Upcoming Holidays in Germany

Day of Reformation
Day of Reformation

31 October 2016 This Regional holiday is in 7 days. Regional Holiday. Marks the day in 1517 when a German monk named Martin Luther strode u...

All Saints Day
All Saints Day

1 November 2016 This Regional holiday is in 8 days. Pope Boniface IV dedicated the day as a holiday to honour the Blessed Virgin Mary and a...

Repentance Day
Repentance Day

16 November 2016 This Regional holiday is in 23 days. Saxony. Protestant churches celebrate a Day of Repentance and Prayer on the Wednesday b...

Germany List of national public holidays of Germany in 2016

Day Date Holiday Comments
Friday January 01 Jan 1 New Years Day
Wednesday January 06 Jan 6 Three Kings Day Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, Saxony-Anhalt
Monday February 08 Feb 8 Fasching Fastnacht. Not a Public Holiday
Friday March 25 Mar 25 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday March 28 Mar 28 Easter Monday Monday after Easter Sunday
Sunday May 01 May 1 Labour Day
Thursday May 05 May 5 Fathers Day Celebrated on Ascension Day
Thursday May 05 May 5 Ascension Day 40 days after Easter
Sunday May 08 May 8 Mother's Day 2nd Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Monday May 16 May 16 Whit Monday 7th Monday after Easter. Also Known as Pentecost Monday
Thursday May 26 May 26 Corpus Christi Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, Hesse, North Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate, Saarland
Monday August 15 Aug 15 Assumption Day Bavaria, Saarland
Saturday September 17 Sep 17 Oktoberfest Start of Oktoberfest. Not a public holiday.
Monday October 03 Oct 3 German Unity Day Celebrated on October 3rd
Monday October 31 Oct 31 Day of Reformation Brandenburg, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Saxony,Saxony-Anhalt, Thuringia
Tuesday November 01 Nov 1 All Saints Day Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, North Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate, Saarland
Wednesday November 16 Nov 16 Repentance Day Saxony. Wednesday before November 23
Sunday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day
Monday December 26 Dec 26 St Stephens Day Second day of Christmas


National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • Except for German Unity Day, public holidays in Germany are determined by the federal states.
  • Holidays that fall on a weekend are not observed on a weekday instead.

Translate this page