Social

Options

Advertisements


Public Holidays in Iraq in 2016

Iraq List of National Public holidays of Iraq in 2016

Day Date Holiday Comments
Friday January 01 New Years Day
Wednesday January 06 Army Day Except Kurdistan
Monday March 21 Eid Norooz Kurdistan only. Spring Festival. Persian New Year.
Sunday May 01 Labour Day International observances began with the Haymarket Riot in Chicago
Thursday July 07 Eid Al Fitr End of Ramadan
Friday July 08 Eid Al Fitr Holiday End of Ramadan
Saturday July 09 Eid Al Fitr Holiday End of Ramadan
Thursday July 14 Republic Day
Wednesday July 20 Public Holiday Government holiday. Due to heatwave
Thursday July 21 Public Holiday Government holiday. Due to heatwave
Sunday September 11 Eid Al-Adha Feast of Sacrifice
Monday September 12 Eid Al-Adha Holiday Sacrifice Feast. Date varies on Lunar cycle
Tuesday September 13 Eid Al-Adha Holiday Sacrifice Feast. Date varies on Lunar cycle
Wednesday September 14 Eid Al-Adha Holiday Sacrifice Feast. Date varies on Lunar cycle
Sunday October 02 Islamic New Year Hijri New Year
Monday October 03 Iraqi Independence Day National Day
Tuesday October 11 Ashura 10th day of Muharram
Monday December 12 Mawlid al-Nabi
Sunday December 25 Christmas Christian only

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday Government/Public Sector

Notes

  • The weekend is observed on a Friday and Saturday

Public Holiday News

Translate this page