Social

Options

Advertisements


Statutory Holidays in Canada in 2019

Canada List of National and regional statutory holidays of Canada in 2019

Day Date Holiday Comments
Tuesday January 01 New Year's Day
Monday February 11 Family Day Statutory holiday in British Columbia
Monday February 18 Family Day 3rd Monday in February. Statutory holiday in Alberta, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Ontario, and Saskatchewan
Friday April 19 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday. Statutory, except in Quebec where Easter Monday can be taken as alternative
Monday April 22 Easter Monday Quebec. Companies can choose between Good Friday or Easter Monday
Sunday May 12 Mother's Day 2nd Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Monday May 20 National Patriots' Day Quebec only. Commemoration of the Lower Canada Rebellion in 1837
Monday May 20 Victoria Day Monday on or before May 24. Statutory, except in New Brunswick, Nova Scotia
Sunday June 16 Father's Day 3rd Sunday in June. Not a public holiday
Friday June 21 National Aboriginal Day Northwest Territories, Yukon. Provincial Statutory Holiday
Monday June 24 Discovery Day Monday nearest June 24th. Newfoundland and Labrador only
Monday June 24 The National Holiday of Quebec Quebec only
Monday July 01 Canada Day
Tuesday July 09 Nunavut Day Nunavut only. Not a holiday for Federal employees
Monday July 15 Orangeman's Day Newfoundland and Labrador
Monday August 05 Civic Day First Monday in August
Monday August 19 Discovery Day Third Monday in August. Yukon only
Monday September 02 Labour Day First Monday in September
Monday October 14 Thanksgiving 2nd Monday in October. Statutory, except in Newfoundland, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island
Monday November 11 Remembrance Day Statutory holiday everywhere except Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, and Nova Scotia
Wednesday December 25 Christmas Day
Thursday December 26 Boxing Day Statutory in Ontario and federal jurisdictions
Tuesday December 31 New Year's Eve Quebec Govt. Only

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday Government/Public Sector

Notes

  • In Canada, public holidays are known as statutory holidays

Translate this page