Public Holidays in Luxembourg in 2016

Luxembourg Upcoming Holidays in Luxembourg

All Saints Day
All Saints Day

1 November 2016 This National holiday is in 8 days. Pope Boniface IV dedicated the day as a holiday to honour the Blessed Virgin Mary and a...

Christmas Day
Christmas Day

25 December 2016 This National holiday is in 62 days. The day celebrates the Nativity of Jesus which (traditionally, but unlikely in reality)...

St Stephens Day
St Stephens Day

26 December 2016 This National holiday is in 63 days. The second day of Christmas is known as Boxing Day or St. Stephens Day. St Stephen was...

Luxembourg List of national public holidays of Luxembourg in 2016

Day Date Holiday Comments
Friday January 01 Jan 1 New Years Day
Friday March 25 Mar 25 Good Friday Banks are closed
Monday March 28 Mar 28 Easter Monday Monday after Easter Sunday
Sunday May 01 May 1 Labour Day
Thursday May 05 May 5 Ascension Day 40 days after Easter
Monday May 16 May 16 Whit Monday 7th Monday after Easter. Also Known as Pentecost Monday
Sunday June 12 Jun 12 Mother's Day 2nd Sunday in June. Not a public holiday
Thursday June 23 Jun 23 National Day Grand Dukes Official Birthday
Monday August 15 Aug 15 Assumption Day Assumption of Mary
Sunday October 02 Oct 2 Fathers Day 1st Sunday in October. Not a public holiday
Tuesday November 01 Nov 1 All Saints Day Toussaint
Wednesday November 02 Nov 2 All Souls Day Not a public holiday
Sunday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day
Monday December 26 Dec 26 St Stephens Day Saint-Etienne


National Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • If the date of a holiday falls on a Saturday or Sunday, then the a day off should be given to employees within three months
  • On top of the public holidays, employees are entitled to a minimum of 25 days of annual leave

Translate this page