Social

Options

Advertisements


Public Holidays in Iraq in 2016

Iraq Upcoming Holidays in Iraq

Mawlid al-Nabi
Maulud Nabi

12 December 2016 This National holiday is in 4 days. Celebrated by Muslims on the twelfth day of the month of Rabiulawal, the third month of...

New Years Day
New Years Day

1 January 2017 This National holiday is in 24 days. New Years Day is a public holiday in all countries that observe the Gregorian calendar,...

Army Day
Army Day

6 January 2017 This Regional holiday is in 29 days. Marks the anniversary of the activation of the Iraqi Army on 6 January 1921

Iraq List of National Public holidays of Iraq in 2016

Day Date Holiday Comments
Friday January 01 Jan 1 New Years Day
Wednesday January 06 Jan 6 Army Day Except Kurdistan
Monday March 21 Mar 21 Eid Norooz Kurdistan only. Spring Festival. Persian New Year.
Sunday May 01 May 1 Labour Day International observances began with the Haymarket Riot in Chicago
Thursday July 07 Jul 7 Eid Al Fitr End of Ramadan
Friday July 08 Jul 8 Eid Al Fitr Holiday End of Ramadan
Saturday July 09 Jul 9 Eid Al Fitr Holiday End of Ramadan
Thursday July 14 Jul 14 Republic Day
Wednesday July 20 Jul 20 Public Holiday Government holiday. Due to heatwave
Thursday July 21 Jul 21 Public Holiday Government holiday. Due to heatwave
Sunday September 11 Sep 11 Eid Al-Adha Feast of Sacrifice
Monday September 12 Sep 12 Eid Al-Adha Holiday Sacrifice Feast. Date varies on Lunar cycle
Tuesday September 13 Sep 13 Eid Al-Adha Holiday Sacrifice Feast. Date varies on Lunar cycle
Wednesday September 14 Sep 14 Eid Al-Adha Holiday Sacrifice Feast. Date varies on Lunar cycle
Sunday October 02 Oct 2 Islamic New Year Hijri New Year
Monday October 03 Oct 3 Iraqi Independence Day National Day
Tuesday October 11 Oct 11 Ashura 10th day of Muharram
Monday December 12 Dec 12 Mawlid al-Nabi
Sunday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Christian only

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday Government/Public Sector

Notes

  • The weekend is observed on a Friday and Saturday

Public Holiday News

Translate this page