Public Holidays in Argentina in 2016

Argentina Upcoming Holidays in Argentina

Day of National Sovereignty
Day of National Sovereignty

28 November 2016 This National holiday is in 34 days. Anniversary of the 1845 Battle of Vuelta de Obligado

Immaculate Conception Day
Immaculate Conception Day

8 December 2016 This National holiday is in 44 days. It is a day that celebrates the belief that Mary, mother of Jesus, was preserved from o...

Public Holiday
Public Holiday

9 December 2016 This National holiday is in 45 days. It is a day that celebrates the belief that Mary, mother of Jesus, was preserved from o...

Argentina List of national public holidays of Argentina in 2016

Day Date Holiday Comments
Friday January 01 Jan 1 New Years Day
Monday February 08 Feb 8 Carnival Monday Monday before Ash Wednesday
Tuesday February 09 Feb 9 Carnival Tuesday Tuesday before Ash Wednesday
Thursday March 24 Mar 24 Truth and Justice Memorial Day Dia de la Memoria
Thursday March 24 Mar 24 Maundy Thursday International Catholic holiday (optional).The Thursday before Easter Sunday
Friday March 25 Mar 25 Good Friday International Catholic holiday
Saturday April 02 Apr 2 Malvinas Day Veteran' s Day
Sunday May 01 May 1 Labour Day
Wednesday May 25 May 25 May Day Revolution Anniversary of the First Independent Government in Buenos Aires
Friday June 17 Jun 17 Martin Miguel de Guemes Day Celebrated since 2016
Sunday June 19 Jun 19 Fathers Day 3rd Sunday in June. Not a public holiday
Monday June 20 Jun 20 National Flag Day Commemorates the death of Manuel Belgrano
Friday July 08 Jul 8 Public Holiday Public holiday as Independence Day is on a Saturday
Saturday July 09 Jul 9 Independence Day Independence from Spain in 1816
Monday August 15 Aug 15 St Martins Day Third Monday in August
Monday October 10 Oct 10 Day of respect for cultural diversity Columbus Day
Sunday October 16 Oct 16 Mother's Day 3rd Sunday in October. Not a public holiday
Monday November 28 Nov 28 Day of National Sovereignty Fourth Monday in November
Thursday December 08 Dec 8 Immaculate Conception Day Also known as Virgins Day
Friday December 09 Dec 9 Public Holiday Bridge holiday for Immaculate Conception Day
Sunday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day


National Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • If the date falls on a Wednesday, the holiday is the preceding Monday. If it falls on a Thursday then the holiday is the following Monday.
  • If the holiday is on Tuesday, Monday is added as a holiday day. if the holiday is on Thursday, then Friday is granted as holiday.
  • The rules above can lead to a lot of annual Public holidays, but most Argentinians only get 10 vacation days, rising to 15 days if they have worked for more than 5 years in a company.

Public Holiday News

Translate this page