Which states observe President's Day?

USA Public Holidays Which states observe the Federal Holiday of President's Day

In the short video above, we take a light-hearted look at the confusion over the name of this holiday.

This U.S. public holiday is observed on the Third Monday in February. This year it fell on Monday 18th February 2019.

Known as Washington's Birthday, this is one of the 10 US legal federal holidays, though it is not a public holiday in all states. Many states may also have a different official name for the holiday. There will be no postal service and while some banks may close, most businesses remain open.

Did you know

38 states and District of Columbia observe a state holiday on this day, with an impressive 14 different variations of the name for the holiday between them.

The following is a list of how each state observes President's Day. Please contact us with any corrections or extra comments to help make this list an even better resource.

Map of US States that observe President's Day in 2019

Map showing President's Day observance by State

List of US states and the observance of President's Day in 2019

State Holiday name Comments
Alabama Alabama George Washington/Thomas Jefferson Birthday  
Alaska Alaska Presidents' Day  
Arizona Arizona Lincoln/Washington/Presidents’ Day  
Arkansas Arkansas George Washington’s Birthday and Daisy Gatson Bates Day  
California California President’s Day  
Colorado Colorado Presidents' Day  
Connecticut Connecticut Washington’s Birthday  
Delaware Delaware No holiday observed  
District of Columbia District of Columbia Washington's Birthday  
Florida Florida No holiday observed  
Georgia Georgia Washington’s Birthday Observed on 24 Decemebr
Hawaii Hawaii Presidents' Day  
Idaho Idaho Presidents' Day  
Illinois Illinois Presidents' Day  
Indiana Indiana Washington’s Birthday May be observed on Christmas Eve, Day after Christmas or Day after Thanksgiving
Iowa Iowa No holiday observed  
Kansas Kansas No holiday observed  
Kentucky Kentucky No holiday observed  
Louisiana Louisiana No holiday observed  
Maine Maine Washington’s Birthday/President’s Day  
Maryland Maryland Presidents' Day  
Massachusetts Massachusetts Washington’s Birthday / Presidents' Day  
Michigan Michigan President’s Day  
Minnesota Minnesota President’s Day  
Mississippi Mississippi George Washington’s Birthday  
Missouri Missouri Washington’s Birthday  
Montana Montana President's Day  
Nebraska Nebraska President’s Day  
Nevada Nevada President’s Day  
New Hampshire New Hampshire President’s Day  
New Jersey New Jersey Presidents Day  
New Mexico New Mexico President’s Day Observed day after Thanksgiving
New York New York Washington’s Birthday  
North Carolina North Carolina No holiday observed  
North Dakota North Dakota Recognition of the birthday of George Washington  
Ohio Ohio President’s Day  
Oklahoma Oklahoma President’s Day  
Oregon Oregon Presidents' Day  
Pennsylvania Pennsylvania Presidents' Day  
Rhode Island Rhode Island No holiday observed  
South Carolina South Carolina George Washington’s Birthday / President’s Day  
South Dakota South Dakota Presidents' Day  
Tennessee Tennessee Presidents Day  
Texas Texas President’s Day  
Utah Utah Washington and Lincoln Day  
Vermont Vermont Presidents' Day  
Virginia Virginia George Washington Day  
Washington Washington President’s Day  
West Virginia West Virginia President’s Day  
Wisconsin Wisconsin No holiday observed  
Wyoming Wyoming President’s Day  

Related Links

Translate this page