Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in Sweden in 2019

Sweden Upcoming Holidays in Sweden

Easter Sunday
Easter Sunday

21 April 2019 This National holiday is Today!. On Easter Sunday, Christians celebrate the resurrection of the Jesus Christ after his c...

Easter Monday
Easter Monday

22 April 2019 This National holiday is Tomorrow. Easter is probably the most important holiday of the Christian year, celebrating the Re...

Labour Day
May Day

1 May 2019 This National holiday is in 10 days. This holiday is most commonly associated as a commemoration of the achievements of the ...

Sweden List of national public holidays of Sweden in 2019

Day Date Holiday Comments
Tuesday January 01 New Year's Day
Sunday January 06 Epiphany 13th Day of Christmas
Friday April 19 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Sunday April 21 Easter Sunday
Monday April 22 Easter Monday Monday after Easter Sunday
Tuesday April 30 Walpurgis Night End of the administrative year in the middle ages
Wednesday May 01 Labour Day
Sunday May 26 Mother's Day Last Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Thursday May 30 Ascension Day 40 days after Easter
Friday May 31 The Friday after Ascension Day May be given by some employers
Thursday June 06 National Day Sveriges nationaldag
Sunday June 09 Pentecost Sunday Fifty days after Easter
Friday June 21 Midsummer Eve Midsommarafton
Saturday June 22 Midsummer Day Midsommardagen
Saturday November 02 All Saints Day Saturday between October 31 and November 6
Sunday November 10 Father's Day 2nd Sunday in November. Not a public holiday
Tuesday December 24 Christmas Eve Julafton
Wednesday December 25 Christmas Day Juldagen
Thursday December 26 Second Day of Christmas Andra juldagen. Celebrated on 26th December
Tuesday December 31 New Year's Eve

Key

National Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Public holidays that occur on a weekend remain on that date (ie. they are not moved to another date, such as the following Monday, for example)
  • Ascension is officially only one day ( Thursday), but often the Friday is taken or given as an additional Day.
  • Public holidays may be referred to as 'Red Days' (röd dag) as when they are shown in calendars, they are often printed in red ink.

Translate this page