Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in Japan in 2018

Japan When is the next Public Holiday in Japan?

Autumnal Equinox Day
Autumnal Equinox Day

23 September 2018 This National holiday is in 4 days. The Autumnal Equinox marks the day that the sun crosses over the equator from the North...

Autumnal Equinox Day (observed)
Autumnal Equinox Day (observed)

24 September 2018 This National holiday is in 5 days. Monday 24 September 2018 is a public as the Autumn Equinox falls on a Sunday

Health-Sports Day
Health-Sports Day

8 October 2018 This National holiday is in 19 days. Japan celebrate Sports Day on the second Monday in October

Japan List of National Public holidays of Japan in 2018

Day Date Holiday Comments
Monday January 01 New Year's Day Gantan
Monday January 08 Coming-of-age Day Seijin no Hi. 2nd Monday of January
Sunday February 11 National Foundation Day
Monday February 12 National Foundation Day (observed)
Wednesday March 21 Vernal Equinox Day March 20 or March 21
Sunday April 29 Showa Day Part of Golden Week
Monday April 30 Showa Day (observed)
Thursday May 03 Constitution Memorial Day Part of Golden Week
Friday May 04 Greenery Day Part of Golden Week
Saturday May 05 Childrens Day Kodomo no Hi. Part of Golden Week
Monday July 16 Marine Day Umi no Hi. 3rd Monday of July
Saturday August 11 Mountain Day August 11 or following Monday if it falls on a Sunday
Monday September 17 Respect for the Aged Day Keiro no Hi. 3rd Monday of September
Sunday September 23 Autumnal Equinox Day September 23 or September 24
Monday September 24 Autumnal Equinox Day (observed)
Monday October 08 Health-Sports Day Taiiku no Hi. 2nd Monday of October
Saturday November 03 Culture Day November 3 or following Monday if it falls on a Sunday
Friday November 23 Labour Thanksgiving Day November 23 or following Monday if it falls on a Sunday
Sunday December 23 The Emperor's Birthday December 23 or following Monday if it falls on a Sunday
Monday December 24 The Emperor's Birthday (observed)

Key

National Holiday

Notes

  • With the exception of New Year's Day, if a holiday falls on a Sunday, the following day is treated as a holiday instead.
  • If Respect for the aged day falls on 21 September and Autumnal Equinox falls in 23 September, then 22 September is declared a holiday - creating 'Silver Week'.

Translate this page