Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in Jammu and Kashmir in 2019

India National and Regional Public holidays of Jammu and Kashmir in 2019

DayDateHolidayComments
Saturday January 26 Jan 26 Republic Day
Monday March 04 Mar 4 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Thursday March 21 Mar 21 Holi
Monday April 01 Apr 1 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Saturday April 06 Apr 6 1st Navratra Jammu and Kashmir only
Sunday April 14 Apr 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Sunday April 14 Apr 14 Vaisakhi several states
Wednesday April 17 Apr 17 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Sunday May 19 May 19 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Friday May 31 May 31 Jumat-ul-Wida Last Friday of Ramadam
Wednesday June 05 Jun 5 Idul Fitr Many states
Friday July 05 Jul 5 Guru Hargobind Ji's Birthday Jammu and Kashmir
Saturday July 13 Jul 13 Martyr's Day Jammu and Kashmir only
Monday August 12 Aug 12 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Thursday August 15 Aug 15 Independence Day
Saturday August 24 Aug 24 Janmashtami Restricted Holiday. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Tuesday September 10 Sep 10 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Wednesday October 02 Oct 2 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Tuesday October 08 Oct 8 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Sunday October 27 Oct 27 Deewali Deepawali. Except Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal.
Tuesday November 12 Nov 12 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Thursday December 05 Dec 5 Birthday of Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah Jammu and Kashmir
Wednesday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.


Translate this page