Social

Options

Advertisements

Statutory Holidays in Canada in 2018

Canada Upcoming Holidays in Canada

Christmas Day
Christmas Day

25 December 2018 This National holiday is in 35 days. The day celebrates the Nativity of Jesus, the date which according to tradition took pl...

Boxing Day
Boxing Day

26 December 2018 This Regional holiday is in 36 days. The second day of Christmas is known as Boxing Day or St. Stephens Day. St Stephen was...

New Year's Day
New Year's Day

1 January 2019 This National holiday is in 42 days. New Years Day is a public holiday in all countries that observe the Gregorian calendar,...

Canada List of National and regional statutory holidays of Canada in 2018

Day Date Holiday Comments
Monday January 01 New Year's Day
Monday February 12 Family Day Statutory holiday in British Columbia
Monday February 19 Family Day 3rd Monday in February. Statutory holiday in Alberta, New Brunswick, Ontario, and Saskatchewan
Monday February 19 Nova Scotia Heritage Day 3rd Monday in February
Monday February 19 Louis Riel Day 3rd Monday in February. Statutory holiday in Manitoba
Monday March 19 St. Patrick's Day Newfoundland and Labrador, Govt only
Friday March 30 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday. Statutory, except in Quebec where Easter Monday can be taken as alternative
Monday April 02 Easter Monday Nunavut. Optional in Alberta and Quebec
Monday April 23 St. George's Day Newfoundland and Labrador. Govt. holiday
Sunday May 13 Mother's Day 2nd Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Monday May 21 National Patriots' Day Quebec only. Commemoration of the Lower Canada Rebellion in 1837
Monday May 21 Victoria Day Monday on or before May 24. Statutory, except in New Brunswick, Nova Scotia
Sunday June 17 Father's Day 3rd Sunday in June. Not a public holiday
Thursday June 21 National Aboriginal Day Northwest Territories, Yukon. Provincial Statutory Holiday
Monday June 25 Discovery Day Monday nearest June 24th. Newfoundland and Labrador only
Monday June 25 The National Holiday of Quebec Quebec only
Sunday July 01 Canada Day Nova Scotia
Monday July 02 Canada Day (observed) As 1 July 2018 is a Sunday, the following Monday will be a holiday. Except Nova Scotia
Monday July 09 Nunavut Day Nunavut only. Not a holiday for Federal employees
Monday July 09 Orangeman's Day Newfoundland and Labrador
Monday August 06 Civic Day First Monday in August
Monday August 06 Civic Holiday Ontario. Non Statutory but widely observed
Monday August 06 Heritage Day Alberta. Optional Holiday. First Monday in August
Monday August 20 Discovery Day Third Monday in August. Yukon only
Monday September 03 Labour Day First Monday in September
Monday October 08 Thanksgiving 2nd Monday in October. Statutory, except in Newfoundland, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island
Monday October 08 Thanksgiving 2nd Monday in October. Designated retail closing day in Nova Scotia
Sunday November 11 Remembrance Day Statutory holiday in many regions
Monday November 12 Remembrance Day (observed) Federal statutory holiday and some provinces
Tuesday December 25 Christmas Day
Wednesday December 26 Boxing Day Statutory in Ontario and federal jurisdictions. Optional in Alberta
Wednesday December 26 Boxing Day Newfoundland and Labrador, Nunavut. Govt. Only
Wednesday December 26 Boxing Day Non-Statutory and Designated retail closing day in Nova Scotia

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • In Canada, public holidays are known as statutory holidays

Translate this page