Public Holidays in Belgium in 2020

Belgium 2020

List of Holidays in Belgium in 2020

Day Date Holiday Name Type Comments
Wednesday New Year's Day Public Holiday
Monday Three Kings' Day Not A Public Holiday Not a public holiday
Sunday Easter Sunday Public Holiday
Monday Easter Monday Public Holiday
Friday Labour Day Public Holiday International Workers' Day
Sunday Mother's Day Not A Public Holiday 2nd Sunday in May
Thursday Ascension Day Public Holiday 39 days after Easter Sunday
Friday Bank Holiday Not A Public Holiday Banks are closed
Sunday Pentecost Sunday Not A Public Holiday 50 Days after Easter
Monday Pentecost Monday Public Holiday 7th Monday after Easter
Sunday Father's Day Not A Public Holiday 2nd Sunday in June. Not a public holiday
Saturday Celebration of the Golden Spurs Regional Holiday Day of the Flemish Community
Tuesday Independence Day Public Holiday National Day
Saturday Assumption Day Public Holiday
Sunday French Community Holiday Regional Holiday
Sunday All Saints' Day Public Holiday
Monday All Souls' Day Not A Public Holiday Not a public holiday
Wednesday Armistice Day Public Holiday
Sunday German Community Day Regional Holiday
Sunday Feast of St. Nicholas Not A Public Holiday Not a public holiday
Friday Christmas Day Public Holiday


  • If a public holiday coincides with a Sunday or an ordinary day of inactivity in the undertaking (usually Saturday), it should before or after that date be replaced by another day of rest (substitute day) which must be fixed on an ordinary day of activity. In this case, the public holiday loses its character of public holiday and the substitute day becomes the actual public holiday.
  • In Belgium there are twelve 'official' public holidays, though two of them fall on a Sunday - Easter Sunday and Whitsun (Pentecost).
  • The three community days are holidays for their government and administrative employees and may also be observed by banks in the community.