Bank Holidays in France in 2015

France Upcoming Holidays in France

Christmas Day
Christmas Day

25 December 2015 This National holiday is in 24 days. The day celebrates the Nativity of Jesus which (traditionally, but unlikely in reality)...

St Stephens Day
St Stephens Day

26 December 2015 This Regional holiday is in 25 days. Alsace and Moselle only. St Stephen was the first Christian martyr.

New Years Day
New Years Day

1 January 2016 This National holiday is in 31 days. New Years Day is a public holiday in all countries that observe the Gregorian calendar,...

France National bank holidays of France in 2015

Day Date Holiday Comments
Thursday January 01 Jan 1 New Years Day
Friday April 03 Apr 3 Good Friday Alsace and Moselle
Monday April 06 Apr 6 Easter Monday Lundi de Páques
Friday May 01 May 1 May Day International Workers Day
Friday May 08 May 8 V-E Day
Thursday May 14 May 14 Ascension Day 40 days after Easter
Monday May 25 May 25 Whitmonday 7th Monday after Easter. Also Known as Pentecost Monday
Sunday May 31 May 31 Mothers Day Last Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Sunday June 21 Jun 21 Fathers Day 3rd Sunday in June. Not a public holiday
Tuesday July 14 Jul 14 Bastille Day French National Day
Saturday August 15 Aug 15 Assumption Day Assumption of Mary
Sunday November 01 Nov 1 All Saints Day
Wednesday November 11 Nov 11 Armistice Day
Friday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day
Saturday December 26 Dec 26 St Stephens Day Celebrated on 26th December. Alsace and Moselle


National Holiday
Regional Holiday
Not a Public Holiday


  • French fixed Public Holidays that fall on a Sunday are celebrated on the following Monday.
  • No time off in lieu is granted when a Public Holiday falls on a Saturday.
  • If a public holiday falls on a Thursday, it is common for many workers to take the Friday as a 'pont' (bridge) to create a long weekend.
  • Only Labour Day (May 1st) is a statutory public holiday in France. The rest of the holidays are granted byagreement between employers' and employees' unions or by agreement of the employer.

Translate this page

Powered by Google