Public Holidays in Cyprus in 2016

Cyprus Upcoming Public Holidays in Cyprus

Greek National Day
Greek National Day

28 October 2016 This National holiday is in 2 days. This is the day of the National Anniversary of Greek Independence

Christmas Day
Christmas Day

25 December 2016 This National holiday is in 60 days. The day celebrates the Nativity of Jesus which (traditionally, but unlikely in reality)...

Boxing Day
Boxing Day

26 December 2016 This National holiday is in 61 days. The second day of Christmas is known as Boxing Day or St. Stephens Day. St Stephen was ...

Cyprus List of National Public holidays of Cyprus in 2016

Day Date Holiday Comments
Friday January 01 Jan 1 New Years Day
Wednesday January 06 Jan 6 Epiphany
Monday March 14 Mar 14 Green Monday Orthodox Shrove Monday. Movable
Friday March 25 Mar 25 Greek Independence Day 25th March Day
Friday April 01 Apr 1 Cyprus National Day Marks the start of the struggle for indpendence
Friday April 29 Apr 29 Orthodox Good Friday Movable
Sunday May 01 May 1 Labour Day
Monday May 02 May 2 Orthodox Easter Monday Movable
Tuesday May 03 May 3 Orthodox Easter Tuesday Banks only
Monday June 20 Jun 20 Pentecost Monday Whit Monday or Pentecost Monday
Monday August 15 Aug 15 Dormition of the Theotokos The Falling Asleep of the Virgin
Saturday October 01 Oct 1 Cyprus Independence Day Cyprus became independent from the British in 1960
Friday October 28 Oct 28 Greek National Day The Ochi day
Sunday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day
Monday December 26 Dec 26 Boxing Day Celebrated on 26th December.


National Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • Holidays that fall on a weekend are not moved to the following Monday

Translate this page