Social

Options

Advertisements


Public Holidays in Brazil in 2017

Brazil Upcoming Holidays in Brazil

Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi

15 June 2017 This National holiday is in 18 days. The Feast of Corpus Christi is a Catholic festival celebrated on the second Thursday af...

State Rebellion Day
State Rebellion Day

9 July 2017 This Regional holiday is in 42 days. São Paulo only.
Anniversary of the Constitutional Revolution of 1932

Independence Day
Independence Day

7 September 2017 This National holiday is in 102 days. On 7 September 1822, a declaration of independence from Portugal was made by Pedro di A...

Brazil List of national public holidays of Brazil in 2017

Day Date Holiday Comments
Sunday January 01 Jan 1 New Years Day Dia Mundial da Paz
Monday February 27 Feb 27 Carnival Ponto facultativo
Tuesday February 28 Feb 28 Carnival Ponto facultativo
Wednesday March 01 Mar 1 Ash Wednesday Ponto facultativo
Friday April 14 Apr 14 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Friday April 21 Apr 21 Tiradentes Day Tiradentes
Monday May 01 May 1 Labour Day Dia do Trabalho
Thursday June 15 Jun 15 Corpus Christi Ponto facultativo. Second Thursday after Whitsun
Sunday July 09 Jul 9 State Rebellion Day São Paulo only. Anniversary of the Constitutional Revolution of 1932
Thursday September 07 Sep 7 Independence Day Declared Independence from Portugal on this date in 1822
Thursday October 12 Oct 12 Lady of Aparecida Holy Marys Day/Nossa Senhora da Aparecida
Friday October 27 Oct 27 Civil Servants Day Government and Banks only. Date to be confirmed
Wednesday November 01 Nov 1 All Saints Day Defuncts' Day
Thursday November 02 Nov 2 All Souls Day Dia de Finados
Wednesday November 15 Nov 15 Republic Day Proclamação da República
Monday November 20 Nov 20 Zumbi dos Palmares Black Consciousness Day
Monday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day Natal

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Government/Public Sector

Notes

  • Ponto facultativos are types of holidays unique to Brazil. It is up to an employer whether they allow employees to take this day. In practice, the holidays are widely observed by the public sector and large companies.
  • Half Day holidays are observed on Christmas Eve (December 24th) and New Year's Eve (December 31st)

Translate this page