Caricom Day around the world in 2024

Caricom Day around the world in 2024
Flag of CARICOM. Image via Office Holidays
  How long until Caricom Day?
Caricom Day
  Dates of Caricom Day around the world
2025 GuyanaJul 7
Guyana Mon, Jul 7National Holiday
2024 GuyanaJul 1
Guyana Mon, Jul 1National Holiday
2023 Various Jul 3, Jul 4, Jul 31
Antigua and BarbudaTue, Jul 4National Holiday
BarbadosMon, Jul 31National Holiday
GrenadaTue, Jul 4National Holiday
GuyanaMon, Jul 3National Holiday
Saint Kitts and NevisTue, Jul 4National Holiday
2022 GuyanaJul 4
Guyana Mon, Jul 4National Holiday
2021 GuyanaJul 5
Guyana Mon, Jul 5National Holiday

Marks the signing of the Treaty of Chaguaramas on July 4th 1973

When is Caricom Day?

Caricom Day is a public holiday in Guyana, observed on the first Monday in July each year.

The day marks the signing of the Treaty of Chaguaramas on this day on July 4th 1973. The Founding Fathers who signed the Treaty on that date were: Prime Ministers Errol Barrow of Barbados, Forbes Burnham of Guyana, Michael Manley of Jamaica, and Eric Williams of Trinidad and Tobago.

The treaty established the Caribbean Community and Common Market, which would go on to become Caribbean Community (CARICOM).

Caricom Day is declared a public holiday, pursuant to the provisions of section 6 of the PUBLIC HOLIDAYS ACT, chapter 19:07, of the laws of Guyana. 

What is Caricom?

Caricom is a grouping of twenty countries: fifteen Member States and five Associate Members. It is home to approximately sixteen million citizens, 60% of whom are under the age of 30, and from the main ethnic groups of Indigenous Peoples, Africans, Indians, Europeans, Chinese,  Portuguese and Javanese.

The Community is multi-lingual; with English as the major language complemented by French and Dutch and variations of these, as well as African and Asian expressions.

Stretching from The Bahamas in the north to Suriname and Guyana in South America, CARICOM comprises states that are considered developing countries, and except for Belize, in Central America and Guyana and Suriname in South America, all  Members and Associate Members are island states.


Translate this page