Indian Independence Day Facts

Facts about Independence Day in India

Image description

What is Independence Day?

This holiday is always celebrated on 15 August. It marks the date in 1947, when India became an independent country.

6 Facts about Independence Day

Lord Mountbatten, the last Viceroy and the first Governor General of India, chose 15 August as Indian Independence Day as it also commemorated the second anniversary of Japan's surrender to the Allied Forces.

Pakistan's Independence Day should be on the same day, but lord Mountbatten being the last Viceroy of undivided British India had to be present at both the ceremonies in Delhi and Karachi. Hence, Pakistan's independence day was celebrated on 14 August.

The name India comes from the River Indus. The valleys around the river became the location of the first inhabitants of India

At the time of independence, India had no official National Anthem. While Jana Gana Mana was written in 1911, it was officially adopted as the Indian national anthem on 24 January 1950.

The Indian national flag is based on the Swaraj flag, a flag of the Indian National Congress. It was designed by Pingali Venkayya, a freedom fighter and an agriculturist from Machilipatnam.

Mahatma Gandhi, was not part of the Independence Day celebrations. He was fasting at the time as part of a protest against Hindu-Muslim riots that were taking place in Bengal


Using our facts

Feel free to use our facts in your website, news article or on your company intranet. All we ask is that you acknowledge the source and link back to this page, like this: ''

More information about Independence Day

Translate this page