India Independence Day around the world in 2020

  How long until India Independence Day?
This holiday next takes place in 299 days.
  Dates of India Independence Day around the world
2021 IndiaAug 15
India Sun, Aug 15National Holiday
2020 IndiaAug 15
India Sat, Aug 15National Holiday
2019 IndiaAug 15
India Thu, Aug 15National Holiday
2018 IndiaAug 15
India Wed, Aug 15National Holiday
2017 IndiaAug 15
India Tue, Aug 15National Holiday
On the 15th of August 1947, India became completely independent from British rule

When is Indian Independence Day?

Indian Independence Day is always celebrated on August 15th. It is the National Day of India.

Also known as 'I-Day', this public holiday marks the date in 1947, when India became an independent country.

This holiday is a dry day in India, when the sale of alcohol is not permitted.

History of Indian Independence Day

The British established their first outpost on the Indian Subcontinent in 1619 at Surat on the northwestern coast.

By the end of that century, the East India Company had opened three more permanent trading stations at Madras, Bombay, and Calcutta.

The British continued to expand their influence in the region until, by the mid nineteenth century, they had control over most of what is present-day India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh. In 1857, a rebellion in northern India by mutinous Indian soldiers, led the British Government to transfer all political power from the East India Company to the Crown. The British began controlling most of India directly while administering the rest through treaties with local rulers.

In the late Nineteenth Century, the initial moves were taken toward self-government in British India by the appointment of Indian councilors to advise the British viceroy and the establishment of provincial councils with Indian members.

In 1920, Indian leader Mohandas K. Gandhi transformed the Indian National Congress political party into a mass movement to campaign against the British colonial rule. The party used both parliamentary and nonviolent resistance and non-cooperation to achieve independence. Other leaders, notably Subhash Chandra Bose, also adopted a military approach to the movement. The movement culminated in the independence of the subcontinent from the British Empire and the formation of India and Pakistan.

Thus, on August 15th 1947, India became a dominion within the Commonwealth. Friction between Hindus and Muslims led the British to partition British India, creating East and West Pakistan. India became a republic within the Commonwealth after promulgating its constitution on 26 January 1950, which is now the Republic Day holiday.

National Flag of India

The Indian national flag is a horizontal tricolor of saffron, white and green. The wheel in the centre is a representation of the chakra, which appears on the abacus of Ashoka's pillar.

The flag was approved on July 22nd 1947 and presented to the Indian nation on August 15th 1947 when Jawaharlal Nehru, the first Prime Minister of India, raised the flag at Lahore Gate of the Red Fort in Delhi.

The colour saffron, represents courage, sacrifice and renunciation. The white denotes truth and purity and the green stands for life, faith and chivalry. The wheel symbolises unceasing motion and progress.

Did you know?

Three facts about India Independence Day

Pakistan's Independence Day should be on the same day, but lord Mountbatten being the last Viceroy of undivided British India had to be present at both the ceremonies in Delhi and Karachi. Hence, Pakistan's independence day was celebrated on 14 August.

70% of all of the world’s spices come from India.

Indian housewives hold 11% of all of the world’s gold. That is more than the reserves of Switzerland, Germany, the IMF, and the US combined.

More facts about India Independence Day

Translate this page