Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in Madrid in 2019

Public Holidays in Madrid Upcoming Public Holidays in Madrid, Spain

Maundy Thursday
Maundy Thursday

18 April 2019 This Regional holiday is in 87 days. Commemorates the last supper and established the ceremony known as the Eucharist

Good Friday
Good Friday

19 April 2019 This National holiday is in 88 days. Good Friday occurs on the Friday before Easter. The day commemorates the Crucifixion of...

Labour Day
May Day

1 May 2019 This National holiday is in 100 days. This holiday is most commonly associated as a commemoration of the achievements of the ...

madrid, Spain National and Regional Public holidays of Madrid, Spain in 2019

DayDateHolidayComments
Tuesday January 01 Jan 1 New Year's Day
Sunday January 06 Jan 6 Epiphany Technically not a national holiday, but has been declared a regional holiday in all regions
Monday January 07 Jan 7 Epiphany Holiday Several regions
Tuesday March 19 Mar 19 Father's Day Celebrated on St. Joseph' s day
Thursday April 18 Apr 18 Maundy Thursday except Catalonia and Valenciana
Friday April 19 Apr 19 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Wednesday May 01 May 1 Labour Day Fiesta del trabajo
Thursday May 02 May 2 Community Festival of Madrid Madrid only. Marks a rebellion against the French during the War of Independence
Sunday May 05 May 5 Mother's Day 1st Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Wednesday May 15 May 15 Feast of St. Isidro Madrid only. Patron Saint of Madrid
Thursday August 15 Aug 15 Assumption Day Assumption of Mary
Saturday October 12 Oct 12 Hispanic Day Columbus Day
Friday November 01 Nov 1 All Saints' Day
Saturday November 09 Nov 9 Our Lady of the Almudena City of Madrid Only
Friday December 06 Dec 6 Constitution Day
Sunday December 08 Dec 8 Immaculate Conception Day
Monday December 09 Dec 9 Immaculate Conception Holiday Several regions
Wednesday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Public holidays are taken on the day they fall and not moved to the following weekend, if they fall on a Saturday or Sunday.
  • Each municipality has a maximum of 13 public holidays a year; up to nine holidays are set by the national government and at least two are chosen locally.
  • The list of regional holidays changes every year, partly because of national holidays falling on Sundays.

Translate this page