King's Birthday in Malaysia 2019

national and public holidays in Malaysia National holiday in Malaysia

This public holiday celebrates the birthday of SPB Yang di Pertuan Agong, the King of Malaysia.

When is the King's Birthday in Malaysia?

How long until Birthday of SPB Yang di Pertuan Agong?
This holiday next takes place in 140 Days.
Dates of Birthday of SPB Yang di Pertuan Agong
Year Weekday Date
2020 Wednesday
2019 Monday
2018 Sunday
2017 Saturday
2016 Saturday
1 Day
This holiday celebrates the birthday of Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Muhammad V

This national holiday celebrates the birthday of Yang Di Pertuan Agong, the King and head of state of Malaysia.

The date of this holiday is cermonial and may change depending on the birthday of the current King. In 2017, the date was changed from the first Saturday in June to the last Saturday in July following the installation of His Majesty the 15th Yang Di Pertuan Agong, Sultan Muhammad V.

In 2017, a further amendment changed the date to 9th September 2017. Though not stated, this change looks like it means observation on 9th September will stay in place for the next five years during the reign of Sultan Muhammad V. In 2018, as the King's Birthday is on a Sunday, the following Monday will be a public holiday in all states apart from Johor, Kedah, Kelantan and Terengganu.

Traditions of the King's Birthday in Malaysia

Events include a ceremonial Trooping of the Colours and a rousing performance by a military band. This ceremony symbolises the Malaysian Armed Forces' pledge of loyalty to the His Majesty the King of Malaysia.

The Malaysian King is one of the few elected monarchs in the world. Since 1993, the full title in Malay has been, Seri Paduka Baginda Yang di-Pertuan Agong. The consort of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong is called the Raja Permaisuri Agong. They are referred to in English as "His Majesty" and "Her Majesty".

The official residence of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong is Istana Negara (the 'National Palace') located in Jalan Syed Putra in the federal capital Kuala Lumpur. There are also other residences, such as Istana Melawati in the federal administrative capital Putrajaya which is the royal retreat or 'istana hinggap' for Yang di-Pertuan Agong and his family, as well as being the venue of meetings of the Conference of Rulers (Malay: Majlis Raja-raja), which elects the Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

The role of the King is largely ceremonial in Malaysia's constitutional monarchy. The constitution specifies that executive power, theoretically vested in the head of state, is exercised by (or on the advice of) the Cabinet which is headed by the Prime Minister, who is responsible to Parliament.

Malaysians celebrate His Majesty the King of Malaysia's birthday with a series of events and ceremonies in the capital, Kuala Lumpur.

The 15th and current Yang di-Pertuan Agong is the Sultan of Kelantan, Sultan Muhammad V. His reign began on 13 December 2016 after his election by the Conference of Rulers.

Translate this page