Social

Options

Advertisements


Public Holidays in Brazil in 2014

Brazil List of national public holidays of Brazil in 2014

Day Date Holiday Comments
Wednesday January 01 New Years Day Dia Mundial da Paz
Monday March 03 Carnival Ponto facultativo
Tuesday March 04 Carnival Ponto facultativo
Wednesday March 05 Ash Wednesday Ponto facultativo
Friday April 18 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday April 21 Tiradentes Day Tiradentes
Thursday May 01 Labour Day Dia do Trabalho
Wednesday June 18 Public Holiday Afternoon, Rio de Janeiro only. For World Cup match.
Thursday June 19 Corpus Christi Ponto facultativo. Second Thursday after Whitsun
Wednesday June 25 Public Holiday Afternoon, Rio de Janeiro only. For World Cup match.
Friday July 04 Public Holiday Rio de Janeiro only. World Cup quarter final
Wednesday July 09 State Rebellion Day São Paulo only. Anniversary of the Constitutional Revolution of 1932
Sunday September 07 Independence Day Declared Independence from Portugal on this date in 1822
Sunday October 12 Lady of Aparecida Holy Marys Day/Nossa Senhora da Aparecida
Tuesday October 28 Civil Servants Day Government and Banks only
Saturday November 01 All Saints Day Defuncts' Day
Sunday November 02 All Souls Day Dia de Finados
Saturday November 15 Republic Day Proclamação da República
Thursday November 20 Zumbi dos Palmares Black Consciousness Day
Thursday December 25 Christmas Day Natal

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Government/Public Sector

Notes

  • Ponto facultativos are types of holidays unique to Brazil. It is up to an employer whether they allow employees to take this day. In practice, the holidays are widely observed by the public sector and large companies.
  • Half Day holidays are observed on Christmas Eve (December 24th) and New Year's Eve (December 31st)

Translate this page