Majority Rule Day in 2020

Bahamas Public Holiday observed in Bahamas

Majority Rule Day

When is Majority Rule Day?

How long until Majority Rule Day Holiday?
This holiday next takes place in 233 Days.
Dates of Majority Rule Day Holiday
Year Weekday Date
2020 Friday
2019 Thursday
2018 Wednesday
2017 Tuesday
2016 Monday
1 Day
The Bahamas gained majority rule for the first time on 10 January 1967

Majority Rule Day is celebrated annually on 10th January as a national public holiday in the Bahamas.

If 10th January falls on a Saturday or Sunday, the following Monday will be observed as a holiday.

Majority Rule Day marks the Bahamas gaining majority rule for the first time on 10 January 1967.

History of Majority Rule Day

The Bahamas became a British Crown colony in 1718 as a result of the British trying to suppress piracy in the region. Following the American war of independence, many British loyalists moved to the Bahamas, bolstering its British connections.

Moves toward independence didn't start until after the end of the second world war, with local political parties only forming in the 1950's. A new constitution giving more local autonomy came into effect in 1964.

On 10 January 1967, in Assembly elections the Progressive Liberal Party led by Lynden Pindling and the ruling United Bahamian Party led by Sir Roland Symonette both won 18 seats. There was one Labour MP, Randol Fawkes, who decided to side with the PLP, enabling majority rule for the first time in Bahamian history.

Lynden Pindling became the first black Premier of the Bahamas, becoming Prime Minister in 1969.

Along with the emancipation from slavery in 1836 and independence in 1973, the achievement of Majority Rule is a seen as one of the most important events in the history of the Bahamas.

To mark this key event, Majority Rule Day became a public holiday in 2014.

How is Majority Rule Day celebrated?

The day is marked by a parade in downtown Freeport. In 2015, the celebrations included honouring 70 individuals who played a key role in bringing Majority Rule to the island.

Translate this page