US State Holidays



Federal Holidays in USA in 2017

USA List of Federal Public Holidays of USA in 2017

Day Date Year Holiday Comments
Sunday January 01 Jan 1 2017 New Years Day
Monday January 02 Jan 2 2017 New Years Day Holiday
Monday January 16 Jan 16 2017 Martin Luther King Day 3rd Monday in January
Monday February 20 Feb 20 2017 Presidents Day 3rd Monday in February. Not all states
Monday April 17 Apr 17 2017 Emancipation Day Washington DC Only. Weekday closest to April 16th
Sunday May 14 May 14 2017 Mother's Day 2nd Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Monday May 29 May 29 2017 Memorial Day Last Monday in May
Sunday June 18 Jun 18 2017 Fathers Day 3rd Sunday in June. Not a public holiday
Tuesday July 04 Jul 4 2017 Independence Day
Monday September 04 Sep 4 2017 Labor Day 1st Monday in September
Monday October 09 Oct 9 2017 Columbus Day 2nd Monday in October
Friday November 10 Nov 10 2017 Veterans Day (observed)
Thursday November 23 Nov 23 2017 Thanksgiving 4th Thursday in November
Friday November 24 Nov 24 2017 Day after Thanksgiving Day after 4th Thursday in November
Monday December 25 Dec 25 2017 Christmas Day


National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • All 11 current federal holidays are also public holidays in all 50 states.
  • If a federal holiday falls on a Saturday, the preceding Friday is a holiday; if a holiday falls on a Sunday the following Monday is a holiday.
  • State holidays are holidays for the government and public sector in that state and many, but not all, private businesses will give employees the day off

Translate this page