Social

Options

Advertisements


Public Holidays in Karnataka in 2016

Karnataka Upcoming Public Holidays in Karnataka

Id-e-Milad
Id-e-Milad

12 December 2016 This Regional holiday is in 3 days. Celebrated by Muslims on the twelfth day of the month of Rabiulawal, the third month of...

Christmas Day
Christmas Day

25 December 2016 This Regional holiday is in 16 days. The day celebrates the Nativity of Jesus which (traditionally, but unlikely in reality)...

Pongal
Pongal

14 January 2017 This Regional holiday is in 36 days. A harvest and thanksgiving festival marking the start of spring, the end of the traditi...

India National and Regional Public holidays of Karnataka in 2016

DayDateHolidayComments
Friday January 15 Sankranti Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Karnataka, Telangana
Tuesday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Monday March 07 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Friday March 25 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Friday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Friday April 08 Ugadi Telugu and Kannada New Year
Thursday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Tuesday April 19 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Sunday May 01 May Day Many states
Monday May 09 Basava Jayanthi Karnataka only. The most important festival of the Lingayats.
Thursday July 07 Ramzan Many states
Monday August 15 Independence Day
Monday September 05 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Monday September 12 Idul Juha Bakrid. Except Gujarat, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Sikkim.
Friday September 30 Mahalaya Karnataka, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Sunday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Monday October 10 Ayudha Puja Karnataka, Tamil Nadu
Tuesday October 11 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Wednesday October 12 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Saturday October 15 Maharishi Valmiki Birthday Delhi, Haryana, Karnataka
Saturday October 29 Narak Chaturdashi Karnataka
Monday October 31 Deepavali Karnataka, Maharashtra
Tuesday November 01 Kannada Rajyothsava Bangalore Only. Karnataka Formation Day
Thursday November 17 Kanakadasa Jayanthi Karnataka only. Not a public holiday in 2016 due to banking crisis
Monday December 12 Id-e-Milad
Sunday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page