Social

Options

Advertisements


Bank Holidays in Assam in 2019

India National and Regional Public holidays of Assam in 2019

DayDateHolidayComments
Monday January 14 Sankranti Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Karnataka, Telangana
Wednesday January 23 Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti Assam, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal. Birthday of a prominent leader in the Indian freedom movement
Saturday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Thursday January 31 Me-dam-me-phi Assam. Ancestor festival
Thursday March 21 Doljatra Holi Dahan
Monday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Saturday April 13 Bohag Bihu Holiday Assam only
Sunday April 14 Bohag Bihu Assamese New Year. Arunachal Pradesh, Assam
Friday April 19 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Wednesday May 01 May Day Many states
Sunday May 19 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Wednesday June 05 Idul Fitr Many states
Monday August 12 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Thursday August 15 Independence Day
Saturday August 24 Janmashtami Restricted Holiday. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Wednesday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Saturday October 05 Maha Saptami Assam, Odisha, West Bengal
Sunday October 06 Durgastami Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Odisha, Telangana, West Bengal
Sunday October 06 Navami of Durga Puja Assam, Tripura,West Bengal
Tuesday October 08 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Sunday October 27 Deepavali Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Tripura
Sunday October 27 Kali Puja Assam, Odisha, West Bengal. Festival dedicated to the Hindu goddess Kali
Saturday November 02 Chhath Puja Assam, Bihar, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh
Tuesday November 12 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Wednesday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page