Social

Options

Advertisements


Public Holidays in Germany in 2017

Germany Upcoming Holidays in Germany

Christmas Day
Christmas Day

25 December 2016 This National holiday is in 22 days. The day celebrates the Nativity of Jesus which (traditionally, but unlikely in reality)...

St Stephens Day
St Stephens Day

26 December 2016 This National holiday is in 23 days. The second day of Christmas is known as Boxing Day or St. Stephens Day. St Stephen was...

New Years Day
New Years Day

1 January 2017 This National holiday is in 29 days. New Years Day is a public holiday in all countries that observe the Gregorian calendar,...

Germany List of national public holidays of Germany in 2017

Day Date Holiday Comments
Sunday January 01 Jan 1 New Years Day
Friday January 06 Jan 6 Epiphany Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, Saxony-Anhalt
Monday February 27 Feb 27 Fasching Fastnacht. Not a Public Holiday
Friday April 14 Apr 14 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday April 17 Apr 17 Easter Monday Monday after Easter Sunday
Monday May 01 May 1 Labour Day
Sunday May 14 May 14 Mother's Day 2nd Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Thursday May 25 May 25 Ascension Day 40 days after Easter
Thursday May 25 May 25 Father's Day Celebrated on Ascension Day
Monday June 05 Jun 5 Whitmonday 7th Monday after Easter. Also Known as Pentecost Monday
Thursday June 15 Jun 15 Corpus Christi Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, Hesse, North Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate, Saarland
Tuesday August 15 Aug 15 Assumption Day Bavaria, Saarland
Saturday September 23 Sep 23 Oktoberfest Start of Oktoberfest. Not a public holiday.
Tuesday October 03 Oct 3 German Unity Day Celebrated on October 3rd
Tuesday October 31 Oct 31 Day of Reformation Nationwide holiday in 2017 to mark the 500th anniversary
Wednesday November 01 Nov 1 All Saints Day Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, North Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate, Saarland
Wednesday November 22 Nov 22 Repentance Day Saxony. Wednesday before November 23
Monday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day
Tuesday December 26 Dec 26 St Stephens Day Second day of Christmas

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Except for German Unity Day, public holidays in Germany are determined by the federal states.
  • Holidays that fall on a weekend are not observed on a weekday instead.

Translate this page