Social

Options

Advertisements

Statutory Holidays in Canada in 2017

Canada Upcoming Holidays in Canada

Thanksgiving
Thanksgiving

9 October 2017 This Regional holiday is in 15 days. Celebrated on the Second Monday in October and statutory, except in New Brunswick, Newf...

Remembrance Day
Remembrance Day

11 November 2017 This Regional holiday is in 48 days. Observed on November 11 to recall the end of World War I on that date in 1918 and honor...

Remembrance Day (in lieu)
Remembrance Day holiday

13 November 2017 This Regional holiday is in 50 days. Observed on Monday 13 November 2017 as 11 November 2017 is a Saturday

Canada List of National and regional statutory holidays of Canada in 2017

Day Date Holiday Comments
Sunday January 01 Jan 1 New Years Day
Monday February 13 Feb 13 Family Day Statutory holiday in British Columbia
Monday February 20 Feb 20 Family Day 3rd Monday in February. Statutory holiday in Alberta, Manitoba, Nova Scotia, Ontario, and Saskatchewan. Known by different names in some provinces
Friday April 14 Apr 14 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday. Statutory, except in Quebec where Easter Monday can be taken as alternative
Monday April 17 Apr 17 Easter Monday Quebec. Companies can choose between Good Friday or Easter Monday
Sunday May 14 May 14 Mother's Day 2nd Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Monday May 22 May 22 National Patriots' Day Quebec only. Commemoration of the Lower Canada Rebellion in 1837
Monday May 22 May 22 Victoria Day Monday on or before May 24
Sunday June 18 Jun 18 Father's Day 3rd Sunday in June. Not a public holiday
Wednesday June 21 Jun 21 National Aboriginal Day Northwest Territories, Yukon. Provincial Statutory Holiday
Saturday June 24 Jun 24 The National Holiday of Quebec Quebec only
Monday June 26 Jun 26 Discovery Day Monday nearest June 24th. Newfoundland and Labrador only
Saturday July 01 Jul 1 Canada Day
Monday July 03 Jul 3 Canada Day (observed) Any business that would normally close on a Saturday will close today
Sunday July 09 Jul 9 Nunavut Day Nunavut only. Not a holiday for Federal employees
Monday July 10 Jul 10 Orangeman's Day Newfoundland and Labrador
Monday August 07 Aug 7 Civic Day First Monday in August
Monday August 21 Aug 21 Discovery Day Third Monday in August. Yukon only
Monday September 04 Sep 4 Labour Day First Monday in September
Monday October 09 Oct 9 Thanksgiving 2nd Monday in October. Statutory, except in New Brunswick, Newfoundland, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island
Saturday November 11 Nov 11 Remembrance Day Statutory holiday everywhere except Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, and Nova Scotia
Monday November 13 Nov 13 Remembrance Day (in lieu) Prince Edward Island and Yukon
Monday November 13 Nov 13 Remembrance Day (in lieu) Govt. only. Alberta, Newfoundland and Labrador, Saskatchwan
Monday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day
Tuesday December 26 Dec 26 Boxing Day Statutory in Ontario and federal jurisdictions

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • In Canada, public holidays are known as statutory holidays

Public Holiday News

Translate this page