Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in Argentina in 2016

Argentina List of national public holidays of Argentina in 2016

Day Date Holiday Comments
Friday January 01 New Years Day
Monday February 08 Carnival Monday Monday before Ash Wednesday
Tuesday February 09 Carnival Tuesday Tuesday before Ash Wednesday
Thursday March 24 Truth and Justice Memorial Day Dia de la Memoria
Thursday March 24 Maundy Thursday International Catholic holiday (optional).The Thursday before Easter Sunday
Friday March 25 Good Friday International Catholic holiday
Saturday April 02 Malvinas Day Veteran' s Day
Sunday May 01 Labour Day
Wednesday May 25 May Day Revolution Anniversary of the First Independent Government in Buenos Aires
Friday June 17 Martin Miguel de Guemes Day Celebrated since 2016
Sunday June 19 Father's Day 3rd Sunday in June. Not a public holiday
Monday June 20 National Flag Day Commemorates the death of Manuel Belgrano
Friday July 08 Public Holiday Public holiday as Independence Day is on a Saturday
Saturday July 09 Independence Day Independence from Spain in 1816
Monday August 15 St Martins Day Third Monday in August
Monday October 10 Day of respect for cultural diversity Columbus Day
Sunday October 16 Mother's Day 3rd Sunday in October. Not a public holiday
Monday November 28 Day of National Sovereignty Fourth Monday in November
Thursday December 08 Immaculate Conception Day Also known as Virgins Day
Friday December 09 Public Holiday Bridge holiday for Immaculate Conception Day
Sunday December 25 Christmas Day

Key

National Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • If the date falls on a Wednesday, the holiday is the preceding Monday. If it falls on a Thursday then the holiday is the following Monday.
  • If the holiday is on Tuesday, Monday is added as a holiday day. if the holiday is on Thursday, then Friday is granted as holiday.
  • The rules above can lead to a lot of annual Public holidays, but most Argentinians only get 10 vacation days, rising to 15 days if they have worked for more than 5 years in a company.

Translate this page