US Independence Day in Puerto Rico in 2020

  How long until US Independence Day?
This holiday next takes place in 88 days.
  Dates of US Independence Day in Puerto Rico
2022 Puerto Rico Mon, Jul 4 National Holiday
2021 Puerto Rico Sun, Jul 4 National Holiday
2020 Puerto Rico Sat, Jul 4 National Holiday
2019 Puerto Rico Thu, Jul 4 National Holiday
2018 Puerto Rico Wed, Jul 4 National Holiday
On July 4th 1776 the United States of America proclaimed its independence from England
  US Independence Day in other countries
US Independence Day internationally

When is US Independence Day?

This nation holiday is celebrated on the Fourth of July. If Independence Day falls on a weekend, then the previous Friday or following Monday will be a holiday.

As this is a Federal holiday, not only will schools and libraries be closed, most federal and state offices will be closed and there will be no mail deliveries on Independence Day

History of US Independence Day

On July 4th 1776, the United States of America proclaimed its independence from England by signing the Declaration of Independence.

While the signing of the Declaration itself was not completed until August, the Fourth of July holiday is seen as the official anniversary of U.S. independence.

Although Philadelphians marked the first anniversary of independence in 1777 with spontaneous celebrations in the streets of Philadelphia, the first recorded use of the name "Independence Day" wasn't until 1791 and Independence Day celebrations only became common after the War of 1812.

By the 1870's, Independence Day had become the most important secular holiday on the American calendar and has transformed into what is known as the 4th of July today.

In 1870, The U.S. Congress made Independence Day an unpaid holiday for federal employees, though it wasn't until 1941 that Congress declared Independence Day to be a paid federal holiday.

How is it celebrated?

This Independence Day, there will be parades, barbeques, picnics and fireworks throughout the country.

Celebrate the Fourth of July with your Hue lights!

Did you know?

Three facts about US Independence Day

One-half of the potatoes made for chips or salad at an Independence Day cookout were grown in Idaho or Washington.

A note written upside down on the back of the Declaration of Independence document reads: "Original Declaration of Independence dated 4th July 1776." Who wrote the note is unknown, though it is thought to have been used as a label.

The Pennsylvania Evening Post was the first newspaper to print the the Declaration of Independence.

More facts about US Independence Day

Translate this page