American Citizenship day in Puerto Rico in 2025

American Citizenship day in Puerto Rico in 2025
  How long until American Citizenship day?
American Citizenship day
  Dates of American Citizenship day in Puerto Rico
2025 Mar 2, Mar 3
Puerto RicoMon, Mar 3National Holiday (in lieu)
Puerto RicoSun, Mar 2National Holiday
2024 Puerto Rico Sat, Mar 2 National Holiday
2023 Puerto Rico Thu, Mar 2 National Holiday
2022 Puerto Rico Wed, Mar 2 National Holiday
2021 Puerto Rico Tue, Mar 2 National Holiday

On March 2nd 1917, President Woodrow Wilson signed into law the Jones-Shafroth Act, granting U.S. citizenship to residents of Puerto Rico

  Which regions observe American Citizenship day in 2025?
National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a public holiday Govt Holiday
  Puerto RicoMar 3 (in lieu)

When is American Citizenship Day?

American Citizenship Day is a public holiday in Puerto Rico on March 2nd each year.

It commemorates the granting of U.S. Citizenship to Puerto Ricans on this day in 1917.

History of American Citizenship Day

The first European to visit the island was Christopher Columbus in November 1493. Puerto Rico would go on to become an important part of the Spanish Empire. In fact, along with Cuba, Puerto Rico was the last Spanish territory in the Americas.

In 1898, during the Spanish–American War, Puerto Rico was invaded by the United States. After the Treaty of Paris, Spain ceded ownership of Puerto Rico and Cuba to the United States.

Did you know?

When America took control, the name of the island was changed to Porto Rico. It was changed back to Puerto Rico in 1932.

On March 2nd 1917, the U.S. Congress passed the Jones-Shafroth Act (commonly known as the Jones Act), which granted Puerto Ricans born on or after April 25th 1898, U.S. citizenship.

The act also created the Senate of Puerto Rico, established a bill of rights, and authorized the election of a Resident Commissioner.

Did you know?

Even though they are American citizens, Puerto Rico's nearly 3.2 million residents are not allowed to vote in U.S. presidential elections.

Translate this page