Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in Maharashtra in 2018

India National and Regional Public holidays of Maharashtra in 2018

DayDateHolidayComments
Friday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Tuesday February 13 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Monday February 19 Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti Maharashtra only
Friday March 02 Holi
Sunday March 18 Ugadi Telugu and Kannada New Year. Karnataka, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh
Thursday March 29 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday March 30 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Sunday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Saturday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Wednesday April 25 Ram Navami Celebrates the birth of Lord Rama to King Dasharatha of Ayodhya
Tuesday May 01 Maharashtra Day Maharashtra only. Commemorates the formation of the state of Maharashtra on 1 May 1960
Tuesday May 29 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Friday June 15 Idul Fitr Many states
Wednesday August 15 Independence Day
Friday August 17 Parsi New Year Jamshed Navroz. Gujarat, Mumbai Only
Wednesday August 22 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Thursday September 13 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Thursday September 20 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Tuesday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Friday October 19 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Wednesday November 07 Deepavali Karnataka, Maharashtra
Wednesday November 07 Deewali Deepawali. Except Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal.
Tuesday November 20 Id-e-Milad
Friday November 23 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Tuesday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page