Social

Options

Advertisements


Public Holidays in Gujarat in 2018

Gujarat Upcoming Public Holidays in Gujarat

Milad-un-Nabi
Maulud Nabi

2 December 2017 This Regional holiday is in 9 days. Celebrated by Muslims on the twelfth day of the month of Rabiulawal, the third month of...

Christmas Day
Christmas Day

25 December 2017 This Regional holiday is in 32 days. The day celebrates the Nativity of Jesus, the date which according to tradition took pl...

Sankranti
Sankranti

14 January 2018 This Regional holiday is in 52 days. Several states. A harvest festival marking the start of spring.

India National and Regional Public holidays of Gujarat in 2018

DayDateHolidayComments
Sunday January 14 Sankranti Several states
Friday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Tuesday February 13 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Friday March 02 Holi
Sunday March 18 Cheti Chand Gujarat only.
Sunday March 25 Ram Navami Celebrates the birth of Lord Rama to King Dasharatha of Ayodhya
Thursday March 29 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday March 30 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Sunday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Saturday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Wednesday April 18 Parashurama Jayanti Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh
Saturday June 16 Idul Fitr Several states
Wednesday August 15 Independence Day
Friday August 17 Parsi New Year Jamshed Navroz. Gujarat, Mumbai Only
Wednesday August 22 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Sunday August 26 Raksha Bandhan Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh only. Shravana Purnima
Monday September 03 Janmashtami Restricted Holiday. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Thursday September 13 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Friday September 21 Muharram Many states
Tuesday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Thursday October 18 Dusshera Vijaya Dashmi. Several states
Wednesday October 31 Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel's Birthday Gujarat only.
Wednesday November 07 Deewali Many states
Thursday November 08 Vikram Samvat New Year Gujarat only.
Friday November 09 Bhai Bij Gujarat only.
Wednesday November 21 Id-e-Milad
Friday November 23 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Tuesday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Public Holiday News


Translate this page