Social

Options

Advertisements


Public Holidays in Dominican Republic in 2016

Dominican Republic Upcoming Holidays in Dominican Republic

Christmas Day
Christmas Day

25 December 2016 This National holiday is in 20 days. The day celebrates the Nativity of Jesus which (traditionally, but unlikely in reality)...

New Years Day
New Years Day

1 January 2017 This National holiday is in 27 days. New Years Day is a public holiday in all countries that observe the Gregorian calendar,...

Epiphany
Epiphany

6 January 2017 This National holiday is in 32 days. A major Christian celebration. Epiphany commemorates the presentation of the infant Jes...

Dominican Republic List of National Public holidays of Dominican Republic in 2016

Day Date Holiday Comments
Friday January 01 Jan 1 New Years Day
Monday January 04 Jan 4 Epiphany (observed) Moved to Monday before Epiphany
Thursday January 21 Jan 21 Lady of Altagracia
Monday January 25 Jan 25 Juan Pablo Duarte Day (observed) Birthday of one of the founding fathers of the Dominican Republic
Saturday February 27 Feb 27 Independence Day Autonomy from Haiti in 1844
Friday March 25 Mar 25 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Sunday March 27 Mar 27 Easter Day
Monday May 02 May 2 Labor Day moved to Monday 2 May
Thursday May 26 May 26 Corpus Christi second Thursday after Whitsun
Sunday May 29 May 29 Mother's Day Last Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Sunday July 31 Jul 31 Father's Day Last Sunday in July. Not a public holiday
Tuesday August 16 Aug 16 Restoration Day Commemorates the start of the war against Spain
Saturday September 24 Sep 24 Our Lady of Mercedes Day
Sunday November 06 Nov 6 Constitution Day
Sunday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day

Key

National Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Some holidays may be moved to the closest Monday to create long weekends

Translate this page