Independence Day in Papua New Guinea in 2020

Independence Day in Papua New Guinea in 2020
  How long until Independence Day?
This holiday next takes place in 336 days.
  Dates of Independence Day in Papua New Guinea
2021 Papua New Guinea Thu, Sep 16 National Holiday
2020 Papua New Guinea Wed, Sep 16 National Holiday
2019 Papua New Guinea Mon, Sep 16 National Holiday
2018 Papua New Guinea Mon, Sep 17 National Holiday (in lieu)
Commemorates the day Papua New Guinea gained its indepence from Australia in 1975

When is Papua New Guinean Independence Day?

Independence Day is a public holiday in Papua New Guinea observed on 16th September.

This is the National Day of Papua New Guinea and commemorates independence from Australia on 16 September 1975.

History of Papua New Guinean Independence Day

Papua New Guinea occupies the eastern half of the island of New Guinea and its offshore islands in the southwestern Pacific Ocean.

The region was first visited by Portuguese and Spanish explorers in the first half of the sixteenth century. They didn't establish any notable colonies, but gave the island its name and ports on the island became important staging posts for fishing expeditions.

Did you know?

The Spanish named the island ' New Guinea' as the inhabitants reminded them of the people of Guinea in West Africa.

In 1884, Britain established the protectorate of British New Guinea over the south-eastern part of New Guinea, while Germany annexed the north-eastern part of the island.

In 1906 control of British New Guinea was transferred to the newly independent Commonwealth of Australia and renamed Territory of Papua.

Did you know?

The Hooded Pitohui only lives in Papua New Guinea and is the world’s only poisonous bird.

At the onset of the First World war, Australian troops occupied German New Guinea. Following Germany's defeat, the League of Nations granted Australia a mandate to run German New Guinea, albeit separately from the Territory of Papua.

The two territories only joined together as  Territory of Papua and New Guinea in July 1949 after the whole of New Guinea had been occupied by the Japanese during the Second World War.

Did you know?

Papua New Guinea is a country with a population of only seven million (about the same size as London), yet has a staggering 850 languages, each with its own customs and traditions. The official languages are Hiri Motu, Tok Pisin, Papua New Guinean, and English.

On 16 September 1975, Papua New Guinea gained full independence from Australia, with Sir Michael Somare becoming prime minister. Papua New Guinea remains part of the Commonwealth.

Translate this page