Sovereignty Day of Montenegro

Independence day in Montenegro is celebrated on 25 May National Holiday in Montenegro

Montenegro Statehood Day is celebrated on 13 July

When is Sovereignty Day of Montenegro?

How long until Montenegro Sovereignty Day?
This holiday next takes place in 48 Days.
Dates of Montenegro Sovereignty Day
Year Weekday Date
2020 Monday July 13th
2019 Saturday July 13th
2018 Friday July 13th
2017 Thursday July 13th
2 Days
Local name
Dan državnosti
Marks the day in 1878 on which the Berlin Congress recognized Montenegro as an independent state.

Montenegro Sovereignty Day, also known as Statehood Day (Montenegrin: Dan državnosti) is a public holiday celebrated on 13 July.

Sovereignty Day commemorates the day in 1878 when the Berlin Congress recognised Montenegro as an independent state.

History of Sovereignty Day of Montenegro

In the 16th century, Montenegro emerged as a semi-autonomous region within the Ottoman Empire. A series of rebellions against Turkish control resulted in Montenegro gaining its independence on 13 July 1878 under the Treaty of Berlin.

Montenegro thus became the 27th independent state in the world, and a principality ruled by Nicholas I. It became a kingdom in 1910, before unifying with Serbia in 1918. It subsequently formed part of Yugoslavia and only regained full independence in 2006.

The date of 13 July has added significance in Montenegro as it was on this day in 1941 that the people of Montenegro began their uprising against the Nazi German occupation during the second world war.

Despite this date marking Montenegro's first independence, it is not Independence Day, which is instead celebrated on 21 May and marks the result of the 2006 referendum for independence from Serbia.

Translate this page